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Executive Summary

Introduction

The Nassau County Living Wage Law (“Law”) was enacted by the Nassau County Legislature in
2006." Its purpose is to ensure that employees of companies that do business with Nassau
County earn the living wage and receive health benefits (or a health benefits supplement), and
that full-time employees receive 12 paid days off a year.

As a result of the Law, covered workers in Nassau County have seen seven annual increases in
their hourly wages in the years following the implementation of the law.

Purpose

The Comptroller’s Office is responsible for monitoring, investigating and auditing compliance
with the Law. In accordance with this responsibility, the Comptroller must submit an Annual
Report to the County Executive and the County Legislature summarizing and assessing the
implementation of, and compliance with, the Law during the preceding year.”

Our focus has been primarily on Personal Care Aides (“PCAs”) and Consumer Directed Patient
Assistance Program (“CDPAP”) service providers as they have the largest number of employees
covered by the law. PCAs, also referred to as Home Health Aides or Home Attendants, assist
the elderly or disabled in their homes. More recently, we have reviewed several Emergency
Shelter agencies for compliance with the Law. As part of our ongoing efforts, when conducting
other audits, we treat this as an important component of contract compliance.

During this past year, New York State began the process of assuming many Medicaid functions
and the State has been transitioning many cases to managed care. Under the cases now managed
by NYS, the agencies are paid by the State. Those personal care worker workers are paid under
New York State’s Wage Parity Law rather than Nassau County’s Living Wage rate. The
Comptroller’s Office’s Living Wage hotline has received numerous calls from home care
workers who have seen their hourly wages drop from $13.35 to $10.35 per hour with benefits.

Summary of 2013 Significant Findings

e On August 1, 2013, the Living Wage rate in Nassau County increased to $15.21 for
employees without health benefits and $13.35 for employees who receive health benefits.

e A Not- for-Profit Homeless Shelter provider, Peace Valley Haven Inc., shortchanged 26
of their employees over $120,000 during 2010 and 2011 by paying hourly rates that were
lower than those mandated by the Law. At the completion of the audit, Peace Valley
Haven Inc. began to repay all monies owed to its employees with a plan to complete this

! Nassau County Living Wage Law, Title 57 of The Miscellaneous Laws of Nassau County.

% Nassau County Living Wage Law §7 (c) (2010).

® This Medicaid program provides services to chronically ill or physically disabled individuals, who then choose
their own caregivers.
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Executive Summary

process by the end of 2013. A follow up review of Peace Valley Haven Inc. will be
conducted in 2014.

e Three Emergency Shelter providers were also reviewed. We found that the auditees
(Bethany House; Community Housing Innovations Inc. and Glory House Recovery Inc.)
underpaid certain of their employees, Bethany House by over $10,000. All but
Community Housing Innovations, Inc. failed to adhere to the compensated time off
policies of the Living Wage Law. As a result of our findings, Bethany House,
Community Housing Innovations, Inc., and Glory House Recovery Inc. rectified the
underpayments. In addition, the auditees with compensated time-off policies that did not
comply with the Living Wage Law agreed to update their respective policies and
procedures.

e Additionally, a Living Wage limited compliance review was performed of Able Health
Care Services for the 2011 calendar year. Our review disclosed the vacation leave policy
of Able Health Care Services was not in compliance with the Living Wage Law and
could be confusing and misleading to Able Care employees. The auditee agreed to add
wording to the attestation form given to all their employees to comply with the
recommendation in the audit.

Conclusion

As shown in the Appendix, the Comptroller’s Office has released 28 Living Wage audit reports
covering 24 different contractors since the Law became effective in 2007. In sum, we have
found $585,971 in underpayments affecting 1,250 employees.

The Comptroller’s Office will continue to perform desk audits, respond to employee complaints
and inquiries received through the hotline, and monitor providers who have been reviewed in the
past to ensure that they remain in compliance.
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Background

The Living Wage Law

All discussions of the Law in this report refer to the Law in existence during 2013, unless
otherwise noted. The Law was last amended on January 21, 2010; the amendments took effect
on March 22, 2010.

Living Wage Rates

The Law increases the minimum hourly wages on August 1% of each year. On August 1, 2013
the Living Wage rate was set at $15.21 in Nassau County for an employee without health
benefits. If the employer provides health benefits to an employee who is covered under the
Living Wage Law, the employee’s rate of pay is $13.35.

The Law also requires that full-time employees receive 12 compensated days off per year for
sick leave, vacation, or personal reasons. Part-time employees who work at least 20 hours per
week receive proportionate compensated days off.

Application of the Law

The Law applies to the following types of contracts and leases entered into by the County after
January 1, 2007:

e service contracts of $25,000 or more; financial assistance contracts® for more than
$50,000 and where the employer has at least 10 employees; and

e leases of property® owned or controlled by the County.

The Law also applies to County subcontractors, County lessees and contractors of recipients of
financial assistance from the County. The Law covers all employees of Nassau County as well
as those of NuHealth (formerly known as the Nassau Health Care Corporation) and its
subsidiaries.® Nassau Community College employees are covered by the Law, as are the
College’s contractors/subcontractors, and their employees. However, student workers at the
College are not covered.’

The Law does not apply to vendors who enter into the following types of contracts with the
County:

e service contracts and financial assistance for providers of child care services, pre-school
services and early intervention services;®

* Nassau County Living Wage Law § 2 Definitions (2010).

> Ibid.

® The January 2010 amendments changed the definition of those employees who are covered by the Law. Nassau
County Living Wage Law §2 (2010).

" Ibid.

® Nassau County Living Wage Law §3(c)(3) (2010).
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e contracts where services are incidental to the delivery of products, equipment or
commodities;’ or

¢ inter-governmental contracts and financial assistance contracts for industrial development
bonds, community development block grants and enterprise-zone investments.*

The Law exempts those employees who are:

e under 18 years of age and are claimed as dependents for federal tax purposes and are
employed as an after-school or summer employee;*

e employed as a trainee in a bona fide training program consistent with federal and state
law wherlg the training program has the goal that the employee advances into a permanent
position;

e disabled and who are covered by a current sub-minimum wage certificate issued to the
employer by the United States Department of Labor, or if they would be covered by such
a certificate but for the fact that the employer is paying a wage equal to or higher than the
federal minimum wage;*® or

e covered by a bona fide collective bargaining agreement provided that the Law is
expressly referenced in the agreement.™

The Comptroller’s Office has promulgated rules and regulations, created forms and other
documents, established a hotline for the confidential reporting of non-compliance and established
a webpage to disseminate information about the Law and the audits undertaken. Audit criteria
for conducting Living Wage audits have been established and a comprehensive audit plan
intended to concentrate on the contractors with the greatest number of employees has been
created.

The Comptroller has established a Living Wage Advisory Board (“Board”) comprised of labor
leaders and Living Wage Law advocates, who advise the Comptroller on compliance issues as
well as on ways to improve the effectiveness of the Law.

We continue to employ a “hotline” to field calls regarding instances of noncompliance with the
Law. We strive to address and resolve whatever issues are reported through the “hotline”. As a
result of our efforts in bringing this issue out in the open, workers have been able to call, with the
assurance of confidentiality. There are forms posted on the Comptroller’s website to provide
workers the opportunity to submit their complaints online or send them in via regular mail. The
forms allow for complaints to be filed for non-compliance regarding their wages, health benefits
and non-payment for holidays in accordance with the Law.

® Nassau County Living Wage Law §2 (2010).

19 I pid.

! Nassau County Living Wage Law §3 (c) (1) (A) (2010).
12 Nassau County Living Wage Law §3 (c) (1) (B) (2010).
13 Nassau County Living Wage Law §3 (2010).

! Nassau County Living Wage Law §10 (c) (2010).

Living Wage Law 2013 Annual Report

2



Living Wage Law 2013 Annual Report

In past years, the Comptroller’s Office focused on audits of health care service providers,
because they tended to have the largest number of employees covered by the Law, i.e., personal
care aides. Currently, the selection of vendors for audit has been broadened to include additional
vendors covered by the Law, such as emergency housing agencies.

Utilizing both field audits and desk audits we have been able to identify shortfalls in payments of
both wages and compensated time off. We have been able to help more than twelve hundred
people recover payments totaling $585,971 owed to them. Exhibit | below summarizes the
financial results of our findings for all of the Living Wage Audits issued from 2007-2013. The
data broken out for each audit can be found in the Appendix.

Exhibit |

Summary Impact of Living Wage Audits Issued for the Years 2007-2013

Compensated Time

Wage Underpayments Underpayments Total Underpayments
Recovered Recovered Recovered
Number of Number of Total
Employees Employees Employees
Amount Impacted Amount Impacted Amount Assisted
$ 393,192 536 $192,779 714 $ 585971 1,250

Penalties for Non-Compliance

When an employer fails to comply with the Law after being notified in writing by the County,
the Law, among other penalties, originally allowed the County to impose a fine “in the amount of
$500 for each week for each employee found not to have been paid in accordance with this
title.”™ In light of the significant number of instances of non-compliance, in 2009 the Board
recommended that the Law be amended to increase the maximum allowable fine that may be
imposed by the County. These changes were implemented when the Law was amended,
effective March 22, 2010, and are as follows:

1. Upon the issuance of the first written notice of a violation of this title an employer shall
be fined in the amount of $500 each week for each employee found not to have been paid
in accordance with this title;

15 Nassau County Living Wage Law §7 (d) (iv) (2010).
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2. If within thirty days after such employer receives the first written notice of violation,
such employer fails to cure such breach, such employer shall receive a second notice of
such violation and shall be fined in the amount of $1,000 each week thereafter for each
employee found not to have been paid in accordance with this title;

3. If within thirty days after such employer receives a second written notice of violation,
such employer fails to cure such breach, such employer shall receive a third notice of
such violation and shall be fined in the amount of $2,000 each week thereafter for each
employee found not to have been paid in accordance with this title.

Rules

The Law provides for rulemaking in two areas: monitoring and enforcement of the Law, and
waivers. The County Executive designated the Comptroller to promulgate the Rules as they
relate to the monitoring and enforcement of the Law.*® The primary purpose of the Rules
promulgated by the Comptroller is to define the role of the Comptroller, outline the
responsibilities of covered employers, and clarify the rights of covered employees. The
Comptroller’s Office periodically reviews its Rules and will revise them as necessary. The
County Executive has promulgated a separate set of Rules to address the procedures governing
requests for waivers and to clarify certain terms. These Rules were last amended on November
10, 2010.

Waivers

County contractors may request a waiver of the requirements of the Law from the County
Executive’s Office. Section 9 of the Law sets forth the eligibility criteria that must be met to
grant their request for a waiver. A contractor granted a waiver is exempt from the Living Wage
Law and is not required to pay its employees the Living Wage rate. However, the contractor
remains subject to Federal and State minimum wage requirements. In 2013, we continued to see
an increase in the number of waivers requested. Seven agencies were granted waivers by the
County Executive’s Office, while three additional agencies received partial waivers; as compared
to nine waivers granted in 2012.

There are several criteria that can be used by contractors in order to receive a waiver. The two
most common are as follows.

1) The salary of the highest paid officer or employee of such contractor cannot exceed six
times the lowest wage or salary paid by the contractor. Taken into account as well for
this computation are benefits, including but not limited to: dividends, a car and health
insurance.

2) The Contractor must prove that complying with the Law will increase his expected total
annual budget in an amount greater than ten percent of the prior fiscal year’s budget.

In August of 2010, the Comptroller’s Office began listing on its Living Wage webpage those
vendors who have requested waivers. All requests for waivers must be submitted on an approved

18 Nassau County Living Wage Law §7 (b) (2010).
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form, which is available on the Living Wage webpage. All waiver requests are reviewed by a
representative of the County Executive’s Office for completeness and compliance with the
required criteria. Not all requests for waivers are granted.

At the Comptroller’s request, the amended Law added the requirement that fringe benefits be
included as part of the determination of the highest paid officer’s total salary. The Law provides
that the Comptroller can determine a method for valuing the fringe benefits in making this
determination. Included in the Compensation Ratio calculation are items such as bonuses, stock
options, educational assistance, housing costs, etc.

Monitoring of the Law by the Comptroller’s Office

The Law charges the Nassau County Comptroller with the responsibilities of monitoring,
investigating and auditing compliance with the Law.'” Since the Law’s inception, the
Comptroller’s Office, through its monitoring powers, has continued to make progress in
achieving the objective of bringing as many covered employers as possible into compliance with
the law.

As part of our ongoing efforts, the Comptroller’s Office is requiring selected contractual
agencies covered by the Law to submit a Payroll Report for Living Wage Compliance, payroll
registers or ADP reports, and other supporting documentation. When this information is
obtained and reviewed, employers may be subject to desk or field audits.

Prior to 2013, the Comptroller’s Office focused on audits of PCA and CDPAP service providers,
because they have the largest number of employees covered by the Law. PCA providers and
CDPAP agencies serving Nassau County had combined total billings to New York State of
approximately $113.3 million in 2013.*® The scope of vendors selected for review was expanded
in 2013 to include other types of vendors covered by the Law, such as housing agencies serving
the homeless population. In 2013 the County had agreements with 31 Homeless Shelters, paying
them a total of $8.2 million.

Webpage

The Living Wage webpage®® includes a complete copy of the current Law, the Living Wage
Rules promulgated by the Comptroller and the County Executive, links to Living Wage Forms in
a downloadable format and Frequently Asked Questions about the Law. Additionally, the annual
reports for the years 2007 through 2012 are available on the webpage. The Unit’s issued audit
reports can also be accessed through the webpage.

7 Nassau County Living Wage Law §7 (a) (2010).

'8 Source: New York State Department of Health Provider Ranking List- Fiscal Year Ending 12/31/2013. Amounts
listed consist of payments by New York State during 2013 to PCA and CDPAP providers under contract with
Nassau County.

19The web address is: www.nassaucountyny.gov/agencies/Comptroller/LivingWage/index.html.
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Poster

The Comptroller’s Office created a Living Wage Poster to explain the Law in a simple format.
Posters are available in English, Spanish and Creole and may be downloaded from the webpage.
The posters list the current Living Wage rates and the employee’s right to compensated days off;
they also provide the Unit’s telephone number and e-mail address to allow individuals to contact
the Unit with questions and employee complaints. The Comptroller’s Rules require that Living
Wage notices be posted in a conspicuous manner at all relevant work sites. The posters have
been designed in a manner to meet this requirement and are updated to reflect changes in the
Living Wage rates. The posters were updated in 2013 to reflect the increased Living Wage
effective August 1, 2013 through July 31, 2014.

Living Wage Law 2013 Annual Report
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The Living Wage Advisory Board

In order to benefit from the insight of union leaders and activists, the County Comptroller
established the Board in 2007. Exhibit 1 lists the Board members as of January 1, 2013.

Exhibit 11
Living Wage Advisory Board Members
as of January 1, 2013
John Durso * Long Island Federation of Labor (Chairman)
Jim Castellane Building & Construction Trades Council (Vice Chair)
Lisa Tyson Long Island Progressive Coalition (Vice Chair)
Jack Ahern International Union of Operating Engineers Local 30
Frank Bail Retail Wholesale Department Store Union Local 1102
Walter Barton National Association of Letter Carriers Branch 6000
Patricia Bowden Transit Workers Union Local 252
Roger Clayman Long Island Federation of Labor
Nick LaMorte Civil Service Employees Association Region 1
Michele Lynch 1199 Service Employees International Union

* Jim Castellane retired as President of the Building Trades Council of Nassau and
Suffolk in June 0f2013. He was succeeded by Richard O’Kane who was Business
Manager at Ironworkers Local 361.

Representatives from the Office of Management and Budget, Field Audit and Legal Counsel are
also present at meetings.

Three Living Wage Advisory Board Meetings were held in 2013. An ongoing topic of discussion
during the meetings was the Living Wage Law waiver criteria. Organizations may apply for a
waiver if the highest paid officer or employee earns a salary plus fringe benefits which is less
than six times the lowest wage or salary plus fringe benefits paid to employees. There was
concern that organizations are submitting the salaries of local management as opposed to the
highest paid employee or officer of the parent organization. It appeared as if organizations may
have been using this tactic as a loophole. The Comptroller’s Office prepared a memo proposing a
change to the Living Wage Law that would clearly define a local, parent, and brother or sister
relationship in a company. The memo was sent to the County Executive and the County Attorney
for review. In addition, Comptroller Maragos emphasized the fact that the Comptroller’s Office
is taking a hard line against not-for-profits with highly paid executives.
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Another area of concern was the effect managed long term care plans®® will have on home care
employees who are currently covered under the Nassau County Living Wage Law. A State
mandate requires certain persons on Medicaid, specifically those recipients over age 21 who
require home and community based services for more than 120 days, to enroll in long term
managed care plans.?* This would result in those contracts being managed by New York State
rather than Nassau County. Therefore, these employees would not be subject to the Living Wage
Law. A major concern was that agencies would legally be allowed to reduce wages below the
Nassau County Living Wage rate to the Wage Parity rate.?> The Comptroller’s hotline has
received numerous calls from healthcare workers who have seen a decline in their wages.

Scope of 2013 Audits

Audit Plan and Priorities

The 2013 audit plan primarily focused on emergency shelter providers since they employ a
relatively large number of workers earning wages close to the Living Wage rate.

Audit Findings

Four Living Wage audit reports were released in 2013; all covering emergency housing shelter
providers. Two of the audits covered calendar years 2010 and 2011 and the other two audits
covered calendar years 2011 and 2012. As illustrated in the table presented in the report’s
Appendix, the summary impact of the four audits issued in 2013 totaled $135,652 of
underpayments affecting 68 employees. Based on the results of these four audits, we concluded
that significant improvement is needed in the compliance of emergency housing shelters
providers.

Below is a brief summary of the 2013 audit findings:
Peace Valley Haven Inc.

A limited compliance audit of Peace Valley Haven Inc., (“PVH”) was completed for calendar
years 2010 and 2011, and revealed that PVH shortchanged their employees over $120,000.
The affected employees consisted primarily of house managers and clerical staff. We
reviewed PVH’s individual Employee Payroll History Reports and found a total of 26
employees were paid less than the Living Wage during the audit period. PVH admitted to
having underpaid their employees. However, PVH claimed the total amount owed to the
employees was only $69,156 and stated that it did not have sufficient funds to rectify the
underpayments at the time. We reviewed PVH’s calculation schedules and determined the

% | ong term managed care is a system that streamlines the delivery of long term services to people who are
Medicaid eligible or eligible for both Medicaid and Medicare and are chronically ill or disabled and wish to stay in
their homes.

1 New York State Department of Health September 20, 2012 memorandum to Managed Long Term Health Care
Plans.

22 Section 3614-C of the New York State Public Health Law established a minimum wage for home care aides who
perform Medicaid reimbursed work. For 2013 the rate was $9.00 plus a $1.35 health supplement, for a total of
$10.35 per hour.
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calculations were based on incorrect Living Wage rates for each respective period. In
addition, an employee was paid for over 1,900 hours in 2011 without any supporting
documentation of the hours on the worksheet provided by PVH.

We reviewed PVH’s Personnel Policies Manual and payroll documents to verify compliance
and found that compensated time off policies were not in agreement with the Living Wage
Law. PVH’s policies caused or could cause covered employees to be denied benefits
mandated by the Living Wage Law. PVH agreed to amend their Personnel Policies Manual
in accordance with our audit recommendation.

We recommended that PVH recalculate all monies owed to employees, both current and
former, and provide these calculations to the Comptroller’s Office. PVH has made an
arrangement with Nassau County to repay the amounts owed to their employees and all
repayments should have been completed by December 2013. Furthermore, we will be
conducting a follow up review of PVH in 2014.

Bethany House

A limited compliance audit of Bethany House (“BH”) was completed for calendar years 2011
and 2012. Seven employees of BH were paid below the Living Wage rate during the period
audited. The underpayment of over $10,000 was partially rectified within a week after
meeting with BH and BH processed a payroll on June 17, 2013 to pay any additional wages
owed.

In addition, BH’s compensated time off policies were not in compliance with the Living
Wage Law. BH claimed it was unaware of the Living Wage Law’s compensated time off
requirements and accrued compensated time off only for those employees working 30 or
more hours a week. The Law requires any employee working 20 or more hours a week to
receive compensated time off proportional to the time earned by full-time employees. BH
agreed with our finding and revised its Employee Manual to reflect the Living Wage Law’s
compensated time off policy.

Community Housing Innovations, Inc.

A limited compliance audit of Community Housing Innovations (“CHI”) was completed for
calendar years 2010 and 2011. CHI discovered that 14 employees were not paid the Living
Wage rate while compiling data for our review. The employees received retroactive pay in
2011 and 2012. We discovered a computational error regarding one employee’s retroactive
pay and that employee was still underpaid for the period from August 2011 through
December 2011. Upon receipt of our findings, CHI remunerated the underpaid employee the
money they were due.

We recommended CHI review their pay rates every August 1st to ensure they are in
compliance with the Living Wage Law. CHI’s response to the audit recommendation
indicated that their Human Resources staff will conduct quarterly reviews to ensure
compliance. While we acknowledged this undertaking, we suggested that particular effort be

Living Wage Law 2013 Annual Report
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made to ensure that the annual August 1st changes to the Living Wage rate are promptly
reflected in employees’ paychecks.

Glory House Recovery, Inc.

A limited compliance audit of Glory House Recovery (“GHR”) was completed for calendar
years 2011 and 2012. Upon review of GHR’s individual Payroll history, we learned one
employee was paid an hourly rate of $10 when the Living Wage rate was $14.16. This
resulted in an underpayment of $1,523 to the employee. GHR agreed and indicated they
intended to make three installment payments to the employee in order to rectify the
underpayment. While we acknowledged GHR’s efforts to establish a payment plan, we did
not agree to a payment plan or deferral of payment to GHR’s employees.

We reviewed GHR’s personnel policies to determine whether they were in compliance with
the compensated time off policies mandated by the Living Wage Law. According to GHR’s
Director, GHR was not aware of the Living Wage Law requirements for accruing
compensated time off. GHR proposed a corrective action plan with respect to compensated
time off policies for both terminated staff and currently employed staff.

In addition, we found that the number of hours worked by employees as listed on their
paystubs did not agree with the number of hours worked on timesheets. Timesheets should be
accurately maintained and cross referenced with payroll information. Going forward, GHR
stated it would implement a process to ensure the validation and reconciliation of timesheets
and payroll records.

Able Health Care Services

The Living Wage compliance review of Able Health Care Services disclosed their vacation
leave policy was not in line with that of the Living Wage Law and could be confusing and
misleading to Able Health Care employees. The auditee agreed to add wording to the
attestation form given to all their employees to comply with the recommendation in the audit.
Since there were no monetary consequences noted in our review of Able Care Health
Services, a formal report was not issued.

Enforcement Successes and Challenges Going Forward

During 2013, we saw an increase in telephone calls from health care workers who have used our
hotline to report issues regarding adherence to the Living Wage Law. Many of the health care
workers expressed concern because they saw their wages decrease mainly due to the Long Term
Managed Care program requirements. We plan to keep the hotline in place while we continue to
expand the range of businesses we are reviewing.

Every year we disclose whether any significant leases subject to the Living Wage Law were
entered into by the County. (The Law defines a county lease as “any lease, concession
agreement, or other agreement authorizing any party to occupy, use, control, or do business at
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property owned or controlled by the county”®.) For 2013, the Office of Real Estate Services
advised us that there were two new significant leases subject to the Law. Nassau County entered
into “License and Cooperation Agreements” with Gabrielli Truck Sales Ltd. and Liro Program
and Construction Management PE PC for the purpose of use and occupancy of space. Under the
terms of their agreement, both of these entities are bound to comply with the Nassau County
Living Wage Law.

The Living Wage Law requires County vendors to pay their employees a minimum hourly rate
plus a benefits supplement rate if no health insurance is provided. When the Law was
implemented in 2007, the policy exempted County part-time and seasonal employees from the
provision of the Living Wage Law due to the CSEA’s collective bargaining agreement. At that
time it was determined that County part-time and seasonal employees were exempt from the
Living Wage Law and thus could be denied the same minimum wage rates as private employees
working under County contracts. In keeping with his commitment to ensure that the Living
Wage Law is fairly enforced, the Nassau County Comptroller has requested an updated opinion
from the current County Attorney as to whether the County’s part-time and seasonal employees
should continue to be considered exempt from the Law.

We will continue to establish alternate audit methods, such as expanded desk audits and new
requirements for agencies to submit their payroll registers or ADP reports and supporting
documentation, in order to ensure that the Comptroller’s Office fulfills its responsibilities.

% Nassau County Living Wage Law §2 Definitions (2010).
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Summary and Impact of Underpayments

2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2007-2013
Compensated Compensated | Compensated
Wage i of Wage rime oft |1 Time ot Wage Wage Wage Grand Totals
Year Audit Report was Issued Emp $ Emp $ Emp $ Emp $ Emp $ Emp $ Emp $ Emp $ Emp $
by Auditee Count| Amount | Count Amount | Count| Amount |Count| Amount | Count | Amount | Count| Amount |Count| Amount | Count | Amount | Count Amount

Allen Health Care Services 103 $ 45,119 103| $ 45,119
First Choice Home Care, Inc. 45 6,290 45 6,290
New York Health Care Inc. 26 6,350 26 6,350
Premiere Home Health Care Services, Inc. 70 15,683 70 15,683
Tender Loving Care Health Care Services, Inc.| 39 54,140 27 10,015 66 64,155
Total Issued 2008 135 $ 76,173 | 175/ $ 61,424 310| $ 137,597

A&B Healthcare Services, Inc. 45 26,067 45 26,067
ABLE Health Care Service, Inc. 2 168 79 12,126 81 12,294
Island Search 67| 50,516 49 57,047 2 84 118| 107,647
Jzanus Home Care, Inc. 132 35,925 132 35,925
PHC Services, Ltd. 45( 38,000 19 6,051 30| 20,042 | 17| 3,518 111 67,611
Randstad US 2 294 18 22,245 23| 9,707 43 32,246
Total Issued 2009 116] $ 88,978 | 293| $ 102,414 79| $77,089| 42| $13,309 530| $ 281,790

Premier Home Health Care Services, Inc. 51 5,056 3 156 54 5,212
Allen Health Care Services 3 33 3 33
First Choice 0 -
PHC Services, Ltd. 17| 3,489 17 3,489
South Shore 67| 5424 67 5,424
Pathways 0 -
Total Issued 2010 51| $ 5,056 20| $3,645 3 $33 67| $5,424 141 $ 14,158

Family Aides 12 867 15| 1,159 | 12 745 39 2,771
Uniondale Community Center 2| 1,468 2 1,468
Long Beach Reach 1 989 1 989
G.E.M. Health Care Agency 32 1,770 12 999 15 738 59 3,507
Total Issued 2011 44| $ 2,637 15| $1,159] 24| $1,744 15[ $738 3]  $2,457 101| $ 8,735

A&B Healthcare Services, Inc. -
Cottage Home Care, Inc. -
Jzanus Home Care, Inc.* 100{ 8,039 100 8,039
Total Issued 2012 100 $8,039 0 $0 100] $ 8,039

Bethany House 7 5,053 7| 5,002 14 10,055
Glory House Recovery 1} 1,523 1 1,523
Community Housing Innovations, Inc. 7| 1,010 8 800 15 1,810
Peace Valley Haven, Inc. 23| 42,978 15| 79,286 38| 122,264
Total Issued 2013 30 $43,988] 31| $86,662 7] $5,002 68| $ 135,652

Total Reports Issued 2008-2013 | 251] $165,151 | 563 $171,531| 114] $81,893] 69| $15086] 82| $6,162] 33| $46,445] 131] $94,701] 7| $5.002] 1250 $585971

Living Wage Law 2013 Annual Report

12



