Fire Commission Home
Goals & Objectives
Fire Commission
Fire Marshal's Office
Fire Prevention Ordinance
Contractor Info
Download Forms Here
Fire Marshal Fees
Fire Loss Reports
Fire Department Login
City, Town & Village Governments
New York State Government
U.S. Government

Breadcrumb Start you are here >Home/Nassau County Fire Commission


Nassau County Fire Commission Chairman -
Ronald L. Magarie
Fire Commission Vice Chairman -
James Mezey, Jr.
Fire Commission Secretary -
Denis J. Collins


Fire Commission Executive Officer
Chief Fire Marshal Scott D. Tusa


1st Battalion
Chairman -
Kenneth B. Fairben
Vice Chairman -
Jerry Keating
Secretary -
Wayne Weber
2nd Battalion
Chairman -
Denis J. Collins
Vice Chairman -
Douglas Wiedmann
Secretary -
Thomas Bettes
3rd Battalion
Chairman -
Steven Lahey
Vice Chairman -
Michael Beilinson
Secretary -
Michael Abrams
4th Battalion
Chairman -
Frederick G. Senti, Jr.
Vice Chairman -
John Hennig
Secretary -
John Matzen
5th Battalion
Chairman -
James Ajamian
Vice Chairman -
Jeff Laureano
Secretary -
William Swift
6th Battalion
Chairman -
John M. Fabian
Vice Chairman -
Robert V. Hughes, Jr.
Secretary -
Paul Wilders
7th Battalion
Chairman -
Ronald Magarie
Vice Chairman -
Tony M. Pluto
Secretary -
Donald Spatz
8th Battalion
Chairman -
Roger Goodwin
Vice Chairman -
James Neubert
Secretary -
Daniel Going
9th Battalion
Chairman -
James Mezey, Jr.
Vice Chairman -
Donald Tortoso
Secretary -
Francis X. DeBobes



General Information (516) 573-9900

Board Business Only (516) 573-9997


PDF File Nassau County Charter - 154KB

The Nassau County Fire Commission is comprised of nine Fire Commissioners, one from each Fire Battalion of Nassau County. The members are elected internally through each Fire Battalion to serve on the Board for a term of one year. The Board itself elects a Chairman, Vice Chairman, and Secretary each year. Serving as the Executive Officer to the Board is Chief Fire Marshal Scott D. Tusa. The Nassau County Fire Commission acts as a liasion between the Nassau County Fire Service, and County Government. They have internal committees which monitor, and when necessary provide asistance and guidence in resolving matters related to the County's Fire & EMS services. The Commission is responsible for the promulgation of the the Nassau County Fire Prevention Ordinance, approving ammendments, and hearing variance requests when required. In addition, the Commission, in accordance with Civil Service Guidelines conducts interviews, grants appointments, and promotions for Fire Marshals, Fire Communications Technicians, and EMS Instructors when such positions are available. The Board holds regular monthly meetings, and special meetings as required.


Nassau County Fire Commission 2014-15



(Front Row L-R) Vice Chairman James Mezey, Jr., Chairman Ronald L. Magarie, Secretary Denis Collins

(Back Row L-R) Commissioners Kenneth Fairben, Steven Lahey, Frederick Senti, Jr, James Ajamian, John Fabian, Roger Goodwin






Fire District Map

1st Battalion

4th Battalion 7th Battalion
100 Bellerose
400 East Rockaway 700 Elmont
110 Bellerose Terrace
410 Lakeview 710 Franklin Square
120 Floral Park
420 Lynbrook 720 Hempstead
130 Floral Park Centre
430 Malverne 730 Roosevelt
140 Garden City
440 Rockville Centre 740 South Hempstead
150 Garden City Park
  750 Uniondale
160 Mineola

5th Battalion

760 West Hempstead
170 New Hyde Park
500 Bayville  
180 South Floral Park
510 East Norwich 8th Battalion
190 Stewart Manor
520 Glen Cove 800 Albertson
  530 Glenwood 810 East Williston
2nd Battalion 540 Locust Valley 820 Great Neck Alert
200 Baldwin 550 Oyster Bay 830 Great Neck Vigilant
210 Freeport 560 Roslyn Rescue 840 Plandome
220 Island Park 570 Sea Cliff 850 Port Washington
230 Long Beach 580 Syosset 860 Williston Park
240 Oceanside 590 Roslyn Highlands 870 Manhasset-Lakeville
250 Pt. Lookout-Lido    
  6th Battalion 9th Battalion
3rd Battalion 600 Bellmore 900 Bethpage
300 Hewlett 610 East Meadow 910 Carle Place
310 Inwood 620 Levittown 920 Farmingdale
320 Lawrence-Cedarhurst 630 Massapequa 930 Hicksville
330 Meadowmere Park 640 Merrick 940 Jericho
340 Valley Stream 650 North Bellmore 950 Plainview
350 Woodmere 660 North Massapequa 960 Westbury
  670 North Merrick 970 South Farmingdale
  680 Seaford  
  690 Wantagh