Legislature Home
What We Do
Legislators
LD 1 Home
LD 1 Map
News Releases
Contact
Links
History
Budget Process
Local Laws
Who Is My Legislator?
Committee Assignments
Meeting Calendars
City, Town & Village Governments
New York State Government
U.S. Government

Nassau County Legislature

Breadcrumb Start you are here >Home/LD1/News Releases/2011

Legislator Abrahams Has Prom Night Safety Tips

It’s prom season! Nassau County Legislator Abrahams (D-Hempstead) has prom night safety tips for parents and teens. Far too often situations get out of hand on what should be an enjoyable and memorable night for high school students. In an effort to keep everyone safe Legislator Abrahams said. Legislator Abrahams said, “The Nassau County Social Host Law makes it a crime for a host, age 18 or older, to provide alcohol to anyone under the age of 21. Possible criminal punishments include a fine of $250 for first-time offenders to fines of up to $1,000 and up to a year in jail for repeat offenders. If you are the person or parents holding a pre-prom party at your home, remember the law.”

Tips for Parents:

• Know and discuss the School code of conduct before the prom with your child.
• Does the school code of conduct extend to off-site functions that have been approved by the school?
• Know who your child is attending prom with and discuss the events for pre and post prom parties with other parents.
• Discuss the dangers of drinking and driving. New York State law mandates arrest and license revocation/ suspension of any person under twenty-one driving with .02% or more Blood Alcohol Content (One Drink!)
• Talk with your child about the dangers of club drugs, warning signs and who to notify for assistance.
• Pre-plan and role-play answers that your child can use to get out of the uncomfortable situations (e.g. offered alcohol, getting a ride from an intoxicated driver, unwanted sexual advances, etc.)
• Discuss guidelines and a curfew. Discuss the consequences of violating these rules.
• Discuss travel plans, use a reputable limousine service that will not allow a person to bring, serve or introduce alcohol in the vehicle.
• Know who is driving to the prom and who will be a passenger. Limit the number of passengers to increase safety and reduce driver distractions.
• Know the location of post prom parties and who is sponsoring them.
• Talk to your teenager about the serious dangers and consequences of underage drinking and driving.
• If your child’s plans change, confirm the change with the parents of other children.
• Remind your child that you are there for them, if they need a ride home or to an after prom affair.

Tips for Teens:
• Alcohol is illegal for persons under the age of twenty-one.
• Don’t let friends drink and drive.
• Plan ahead- make sure you have a safe plan for prom night.
• Discuss your plans with your friends; remind each other about responsible decision-making and confronting peer pressure.
• Do not leave your possessions unattended.
• Learn the warning signs for alcohols poisoning and drug intoxication, contact 911 for assistance and immediate treatment.
• Take extra money or have a responsible person available for transportation for a safe ride home or in case an emergency arises.
• Remember to charge your cell phone and have it with you.
• Know where you are and where you are going; keep your parents and friends informed.
• Trust your instincts, if you feel endangered or uncomfortable, leave immediately.
• Intoxication by alcohol or drugs can lead to poor judgment and dangerous situations.
• Practice and discuss answers you can use to get out of uncomfortable situations.
• Do not allow anyone in your car or limo that has drugs or weapons. It is dangerous and everyone in the car is at risk of getting arrested.
• It is illegal to alter your drivers’ license or any other form of government identifications.