Legislature Home
What We Do
Legislators
LD 1 Home
LD 1 Map
News Releases
Contact
Links
History
Budget Process
Local Laws
Who Is My Legislator?
Committee Assignments
Meeting Calendars
City, Town & Village Governments
New York State Government
U.S. Government

Nassau County Legislature

Breadcrumb Start you are here >Home/LD1/News Releases/2007

Abrahams Urges Residents to Apply for Lifeguard Positions Throughout Nassau County

Health Department Taking Applications for Certification

With the warm days of summer just ahead, Nassau County Legislator Kevan Abrahams (D-Hempstead) and the Nassau County Department of Health are reminding all residents who are applying for lifeguard certification that they:

 

  • Must apply in person (at 240 Old Country Road, Mineola, 5th floor) unless previously photographed by the Health Department
  • Must possess an American Red Cross Basic Lifeguard Certificate or a New York State Department of Health accepted equivalent and be at least 16 years of age at the time of the test.
  • Will be photographed, unless previously photographed by the Health Department
  • Will be required to pay a $30 processing fee in the form of a check or money order.
  • Will be processed weekdays between the hours of 9 a.m. – 4 p.m. only.

“Guarding the pools and waterways of Nassau County is a great responsibility, so it is paramount that all applicants are in the proper physical and mental shape, and have all of their documentation prepared,” Abrahams said. “Lifeguarding can be an extremely exciting and rewarding job, and I am confident that our residents will be in the best hands possible.

Applicants also must be in satisfactory medical condition. Hearing loss in either ear should not exceed 25db between 500 and 2,000 Hz, 40 db at 3,000Hz and 45 db at 4,000Hz. 

For bathing beach certifications, applicants must have a minimum of 20/40 vision in one eye without corrective lenses. For swimming pool only certifications, applicants can achieve 20/40 vision in one eye with corrective lenses.

Physician’s information and signature MUST be completed in both sections of the application. To be accepted for processing, an application MUST be complete. There are NO exceptions.

The certificates are valid for a period of three years. Processing fee payments may be made by check or money order payable to the Nassau County Department of Health.

Please be advised that there may be a four-week waiting period from the time an application is submitted to the time of the next available test date. For those applying for a restricted card, test dates are offered late spring through early summer on limited bases.

For additional information, please call the Department between 9 a.m. and 4 p.m. at (516) 571-2591.

Applications for Approval of Lifeguard Qualifications and Instructions for completing the application are available on the Health Department website at www.nassaucountyny.gov/health and follow the links under Environmental Health.