Legislature Home
What We Do
Legislators
LD 4 Home
LD 4 Map
News Releases
Contact
Links
History
Budget Process
Local Laws
Who Is My Legislator?
Committee Assignments
Meeting Calendars
City, Town & Village Governments
New York State Government
U.S. Government

Nassau County Legislature

Breadcrumb Start you are here >Home/

December 10, 2013

jb1

Hurry!  The Deadlines For All Applications Are Approaching!

Nassau County offers homeowners a variety of tax exemptions to help reduce property taxes. 

You may be eligible for one or more of the tax exemptions described here.

Basic STAR Exemption

New Basic STAR Applicants:  All owners of owner-occupied residences are eligible for the NYS School Tax Relief Program if their annual income is less than $500,000.  The Application Deadline is January 2, 2014.

Current Basic STAR Recipients:  Only homeowners who currently receive the Basic STAR exemption must re-register with New York State online at www.tax.ny.gov or by phone at 518-457-2036 by December 31, 2013.

Enhanced STAR School Tax Exemption

Homeowners age 65 and over with annual gross adjusted incomes of less than $81,900 may apply for the Enhanced STAR exemption for additional savings. The NYS Re-registration process only applies to Basic STAR recipients.  Enhanced STAR recipients need to apply with the County Assessor each year unless you have enrolled in the Income Verification Program.  To verify if you have enrolled, please contact the assessor at (516) 571-1500. Deadline - January 2, 2014.

Nassau County homeowners may also be eligible for one or more of the following property tax exemptions:

Veterans Real Property Tax Exemption

Eligible applicants will receive an exemption from county and town taxes, but not from special district or school taxes. The exemption is equal to 15% of your assessment for service during war-time and an additional 10% for service in a combat area, or for having received an Expeditionary Medal. Deadline - January 2, 2014.

Volunteer Firefighter/Ambulance Worker Property Tax Exemption

The primary residence owned by an enrolled member of an incorporated volunteer fire company, fire department or ambulance service will be granted a partial exemption from municipal/school taxes and special ad valorem tax levies, so long as the property owner has been a member for at least five (5) years.  Nassau County offers a lifetime exemption to members with over 20 years of volunteer service. Deadline - January 2, 2014.

Senior Citizen Property Tax Exemption

Senior Citizen homeowners in Nassau County whose incomes are $37,400 or lower are eligible to receive an exemption on their real property taxes.  In order to participate in the exemption program, at least one property owner must be 65 years of age or older and the combined income of property owners must fall within the required guidelines.  Renewal applications have been sent to residents already receiving senior citizen property tax exemptions.  Deadline - January 2, 2014.

Physically Disabled Tax Reduction Program

The real property tax exemption granted is equal to the amount of any increase in value of property attributable to improvements made for the purpose of facilitating and accommodating the use and accessibility of the property by (a) a resident owner of the property who is physically disabled or (b) a member of the resident owner’s household who is physically disabled, if the member of the household resides on the property. Deadline - January 2, 2014.

Persons with Disabilities and Limited Incomes Partial Property Tax Exemption

To be eligible, homeowners whose incomes are $37,399 or less must have a physical or mental impairment not due to current use of alcohol or illegal drugs.  Proof of disability is required.  Please refer to brochure for eligibility guidelines.  Note:  If your property is receiving an exemption under the Low Income Senior Citizens’ Exemption, it cannot receive this exemption. Deadline - January 2, 2014.

Home Improvement Property Tax Exemption

The Home Improvement Exemption is an eight year decreasing exemption on alterations, reconstructions or improvements that increase the assessed value of a one or two-family home. For the first year of the exemption, 100 percent of the assessed value of the improvement is exempt. In the second year 87.5 percent; in the third year, 75 percent; and so on.  Please refer to the brochure for list of taxable and non-taxable improvements. Deadline - January 2, 2014.

Cold War Veterans Exemption

The exemption provides a partial property tax exemption (as adopted by the municipality) to veterans who served during the Cold War period. The law also provides an additional exemption to disabled veterans, equal to one-half of their service connected disability ratings. The basic exemption is limited to 10 years, but there is no time limit for the disabled portion of this exemption. In both instances, the exemption is limited to the primary residence of the veteran, and is applicable only to general municipal taxes, not to school taxes or special district levies. Deadline - January 2, 2014.

For applications and brochures please call 571-1500 or visit web site:

http://www.nassaucountyny.gov/agencies/Assessor/index.html

Hurry!  The Deadline For All Applications Are Approaching!

• There is no cost to the homeowner to file for any of these tax exemptions •