City, Town & Village Governments
New York State Government
U.S. Government

Office of Consumer Affairs

Breadcrumb Start you are here >Home/Taxi & Limousine Operators/Frequently Asked Questions

Frequently Asked Questions

Frequently Asked Questions

Q. How does the new Reciprocity law (effective November 14, 2006) affect me?

Q. How to register your For-Hire Vehicle (FHV) with the NCTLC when your FHV is licensed in a    

     municipality within the County of Nassau (In-County)?

Q. How to register your For-Hire Vehicle (FHV) with the NCTLC if your vehicle is a licensed FHV

     within New York City, Westchester or Suffolk County (Out-of-County)?

Q. Does a NCTLC registration sticker mean that I am now a licensed FHV in the County of Nassau?

Q. Can I still register my FHV with the NCTLC if I live or work in a municipality that does not

     license FHV’s?

Q. Will I have to renew my NCTLC registration every year if I am a licensed FHV with Nassau

     County?

Q. How many times a year am I required to have my For-Hire Vehicle inspected?

Q. What does the NCTLC registration look like?

Q. Are any of the licensed/registered For-Hire Vehicles operating in the County of Nassau allowed

     to accept a street hail?

Q. Who will be conducting enforcement on the FHV’s operating in the County of Nassau?

Q. How can I file a complaint on a licensed or non-licensed, non-registered For-Hire Vehicle,

     including limousines?

Q. How does the new Reciprocity law (effective November 14, 2006) affect me?

A.  The recent passage of New York State bill S8400/A1054b sets requirements for jurisdictions to qualify for reciprocity.  Only Nassau, Westchester and New York City (NYC) can qualify.   Nassau currently does not meet the requirements of this new legislation; however, we have secured the following privileges with NYC.

If you have a Nassau FHV Registration Diamond you may:

     drop off at NYC airports

     drop off anywhere in NYC 

     pick up at NYC airports for destinations outside of NYC excluding Westchester County

Currently not permitted are pick ups elsewhere in NYC (that is, pick ups in NYC not at an airport) for destinations outside of NYC.

Nassau is currently working to meet all qualifications as stipulated in the new State reciprocity law.  We will update this site as soon as there are any changes.   

Q. How to register your For-Hire Vehicle (FHV) with the NCTLC when your FHV is licensed in a municipality within the County of Nassau (In-County)?

A. The DMV registered vehicle owner must complete and submit the For-Hire Vehicle Registration Application, all required supporting documentation and the appropriate fee. 

Note:  The DMV registered vehicle owner or principal (if the owner is a corporation) must have his/her name printed and signature notarized on the third page of the application.

Note:  The applicant is responsible for submitting legible photocopies of all required documentation with his/her application.  Photocopies will not be made for you and you may be turned away at the desk if the application is incomplete.

The fee for a New In-County vehicle registration is $5.00 per vehicleCertified Check or Money Order Only!
Payable to:  The County of Nassau.  One Certified Check or Money Order is acceptable for multiple vehicles.

All Renewal In-County vehicle registrations are late at this time and will be assessed a $25.00 Late Fee in addition to the $5.00 Renewal fee per vehicle.

The For-Hire Vehicle Registration Application may be picked up at our office or it can be mailed to you.  Call (516) 571-2600 for an application to be mailed.  Our office location is:

Nassau County Office of Consumer Affairs
TLC Division
200 County Seat Drive
Mineola, NY 11501

Q. How to register your For-Hire Vehicle (FHV) with the NCTLC if your vehicle is a licensed FHV within New York City, Westchester or Suffolk County (Out-of-County)?

A. The DMV registered vehicle owner must complete and submit the For-Hire Vehicle Registration Application, all required supporting documentation and the appropriate fee. 

Note:  The DMV registered vehicle owner or principal (if the owner is a corporation) must have his/her name printed and signature notarized on the third page of the application.

Note:  The applicant is responsible for submitting legible photocopies of all required documentation with his/her application.  Photocopies will not be made for you and you may be turned away at the desk if the application is incomplete.

Note:  A base may submit applications on behalf of their owner/operators as long as the DMV registered vehicle owner completes the application and authorizes the base (on page 3 of the application) to do so.

The fee for a New Out-of-County vehicle registration is $300.00 per vehicle.  Certified Check or Money Order Only!  Payable to:  The County of Nassau.  One Certified Check or Money Order is acceptable for multiple vehicles.

All Renewal Out-of-County vehicle registrations are late at this time and will be assessed a $25.00 Late Fee in addition to the $250.00 Renewal fee per vehicle.  Total Renewal fee at this time = $275.00 per vehicle.

The For-Hire Vehicle Registration Application may be picked up at our office or it can be mailed to you.  Call (516) 571-2600 for an application to be mailed.  Our office location is:

Nassau County Office of Consumer Affairs
TLC Division
200 County Seat Drive
Mineola, NY 11501

Q. Does a NCTLC registration sticker mean that I am now a licensed FHV in the County of Nassau?

A. NO! The NCTLC is authorized to regulate the registration of all FHVs operating in Nassau County. Your local municipality must still license you.

Q. Can I still register my FHV with the NCTLC if I live or work in a municipality that does not license FHV’s?

A. Yes! However, it must be understood that a registration does not act as a license and the fee for this would be $300.00 for the first year, $250.00 for each additional year. Additionally, the owner/driver must submit to a future background investigation including fingerprints at the applicant's expense.

Q. Will I have to renew my NCTLC registration every year if I am a licensed FHV with Nassau County?

A. Yes, each registration is on a yearly basis.

Q. How many times a year am I required to have my For-Hire Vehicle inspected?

A. In Nassau County, you are required to have a yearly NYS Inspection as well as an inspection when required by your local licensing municipality.

However, any FHV registered with NCTLC can, at the discretion of a TLC Enforcement Officer or at the discretion of your licensing agency, be required to undergo additional inspections for safety needs.

Q. What does the NCTLC registration look like?

TLC Medallion

Q. Are any of the licensed/registered For-Hire Vehicles operating in the County of Nassau allowed to accept a street hail?

A. No! Pick up of all passengers must be on a pre-arranged agreement or at an authorized taxi stand.

Q. Who will be conducting enforcement on the FHV’s operating in the County of Nassau?

A. The Nassau County Police Department, NCTLC Enforcement Officers / Investigators and local Nassau Municipal Police Department and Code Enforcement personnel have the authority to conduct car stops when a violation is observed. In addition, NCTLC Enforcement Officers / Investigators may conduct safety and compliance checks on For-Hire Vehicles at any time.  NCTLC Officers are empowered to enforce State and Local laws and NCTLC rules and regulations.

**Unregistered FOR-Hire Vehicles Operating In Nassau County Will Be SEIZED**

Q. How can I file a complaint on a licensed or non-licensed, non-registered For-Hire Vehicle, including limousines?

A. You can register a complaint with the Consumer Affairs TLC division in several ways. You can call us at (516) 571-2600 to request a complaint form, visit us at our office, or download a Consumer Complaint Form.

Please include your name, the name of the company you have a problem with, phone numbers and any additional information about the vehicle or company that would be vital for our investigation regarding your complaint.  In addition, be sure to include the location, time, date and the driver’s name.