County Seal
Nassau County Home Contact Us

Planning Commission

Edward P. Mangano
County Executive
Edward P. Mangano

Motor Parkway Trail Project

CLICK HERE for information and details on the Motor Parkway Trail Project


News Release and Upcoming Events

  • Nassau County, NYMTC and Village Lynbrook to host Downtown Lynbrook Complete Streets Community Workshop on November 6th, 2014 from 1pm - 5pm (Click for invitation and details)


NY-CT Sustainable Communities




The Planning Commission’s vision is to oversee the orderly growth and development of the County, seeking to balance economic growth with environmental protection and historic preservation.

The Nassau County Planning Commission is mandated by law to approve subdivision of land within the unincorporated areas of the County and offer recommendations to municipalities on zoning referrals. The Planning Department staff processes and reviews subdivision applications and zoning referrals, and makes recommendations to the Planning Commission. The Department is also charged with advising the County Executive, the County Legislature, and County departments in regard to the physical development of the County.

The Planning Commission consists of nine members appointed by the County Executive. The County charter stipulates that all Commission members must be residents of Nassau County, and that the Commission must include at least one resident from each of the County's three towns. The charter also requires that certain interests 'environmental, business, and minority' be represented on the Commission. The term of office for Planning Commissioners is three years.

Jeffrey H. Greenfield, Chair

Marty Glennon, Vice-Chair

James Bianco

Ronald J. Ellerbe

Neal Lewis

Donna Martini

Mary McCaffery

Robert A. Melillo

Leonard Shapiro

Satish Sood, Deputy Commissioner

In general, Planning Commission meetings are held every other week on Thursday at 1550 Franklin Avenue (Main Floor) in Mineola, NY. All meetings are open to the public. Please contact by phone: (516) 571-9600 or by fax: (516) 571-9450 with any questions regarding meeting schedules and/or agendas. For meeting information Click Here.

To obtain information on the Nassau County Planning Federation, please visit their website at: Planning Federation - Nassau County, New York