City, Town & Village Governments
New York State Government
U.S. Government

Living and Working

Breadcrumb Start you are here >Home/Living Wage

Living Wage Overview

The Living Wage Law

The Nassau County Living Wage Law took effect on January 1, 2007.  Its purpose is to ensure that employees of companies that Nassau County does business with are earning the living wage, receiving health benefits or a health benefits supplement, and full-time employees receive 12 paid days off a year.

The Current Living Wage

As of August 1, 2014 the Living Wage is $15.50 an hour or $13.58 with health benefits. This rate will stay in effect until August 1, 2015, when it will be adjusted upward by a percentage equal to the change in the New York Metropolitan Area All Urban Index (NY CPI-U) as promulgated by the Bureau of Labor Statistics of the U.S. Department of Labor (CPI) for the period of June of the preceding year to June of the current year. In no event shall such wage increase be greater than three and one-half percent.

Health Benefits Supplement

Covered employees are entitled to receive either health benefits or a health benefit supplement of $1.86 per hour.

Paid Days Off

Covered full-time employees are entitled to 12 paid days off per year for sick leave, vacation or personal necessity, which may include paid holidays. Part-time employees working 20 hours or more per week also receive compensated days off on a pro rata basis up to a maximum of 12 days including paid holidays. The Law does not require compensated days off for employees working less than 20 hours per week.

Text of the Living Wage Law
Rules of the County Comptroller
Rules of the County Executive
Request for Waiver of the Provisions of the
Nassau County Living Wage Law
Who is a Covered Employer?
Living Wage Compliance and Comptroller's Annual Reports
Meet the Living Wage Advisory Board/ View Board's Annual Reports
Complaint Form (submit online)
Complaint Form (printable version)
Compensation Ratio Form (Excel format)
Living Wage Law Poster
La Ley de Living Wage (Poster in Spanish)
Living Wage Law Poster (Creole)
FAQs
Contact Us

Waivers

Section 9 of the Living Wage Law permits firms that meet certain criteria to apply for waivers from Living Wage Law. The County has received a request for a waiver from the requirements of the Living Wage Law from:

Freeport Pride, Inc.
Herricks Public Schools
MOMMAS House