Comptroller's Challenge 2018

Nassau County Comptroller Announces Winners of Sixth Annual High School Entrepreneurial Challenge

Event Gives High School Students Opportunity to Develop and Present Business Ideas to Panel of Judges

MINEOLA, NY – The Office of the Nassau County Comptroller hosted its sixth annual Comptroller’s Entrepreneurial Challenge (Challenge) on April 25 at the Theodore Roosevelt Executive and Legislative Building with a new theme focusing on Civic Innovation.

The Challenge consisted of student-led teams from public schools across Nassau County creating a fictional organization’s comprehensive business plan and elevator pitch. More than a dozen schools and 26 teams took part in the event, with an overarching theme of Civic Innovation and two categories: Technology and Social Entrepreneurship. The program was geared to inspire students to not only create a successful business plan, but also give back and make a positive impact in their communities.

“Our team is working around the clock to bring innovation to Nassau County, and that’s why we updated the Challenge to have two categories this year and provide students with different backgrounds and passions an opportunity to get involved,” Nassau County Comptroller Jack Schnirman said. “Any young person can make a difference in their community and be a citizen superhero through civic innovation or social entrepreneurship and the Challenge is a great format for our future leaders.”

Twenty-six teams of five students filling the executive roles of a start-up technology company or community-oriented nonprofit developed an organizational plan and presented to a panel of judges.

The judging panel was comprised of community business and civic leaders:

Francesca Carlow, Nassau County Chambers of Commerce; Robert Suarez, Bethpage Federal Credit Union; David Schieren, Empower Solar; Ryan Coyne, Overview Technology Solutions; Jillian Weston, Jillian’s Circus; Pat Edwards, Citi; Raj Mehta, Infosys International; Marc Alessi, Campolo, Middleton & McCormick, LLP; Kiera McCourt, People’s United; Sol Marie Alfonso-Jones, Long Island Community Foundation; Harry Desgranges, People’s United; and Brian Berkery, Creative Vibe Advertising.

Congratulations to all teams involved and this year’s winners:

Technology Category

High School/Team Name

1st place: New Hyde Park Memorial High School/Stormore

2nd place: JFK High School/Smooth Improve

3rd place: MacArthur High School/Sensor X

Honorable Mentions:

JFK High School/SolarFlex

Massapequa High School/ACFT

Syosset High School/Solarity

Social Entrepreneurship Category

High School/Team Name

1st place: Baldwin High School/SuppLI

2nd place: East Meadow High School/Escape

3rd place: Carle Place High School/Ecowear

Honorable Mentions:

New Hyde Park Memorial High School/Bridge Program

Paul D. Schreiber High School/Live Action

MacArthur High School/Allergy Armour