MINUTES OF THE NASSAU COUNTY MINORITY AFFAIRS COUNCIL NOVEMBER 14, 2018

The meeting of the Nassau County Minority Affairs Council was held on Wednesday, November 14, 2018 at approximately 6:40 pm in the First Floor Conference Room at One West St, Mineola New York.

The following members were present at the meeting:

Nadine Burnett, Vice – Chairperson Isma Chaudhry Charles Dickens Gabriela Guzman, Secretary Kyle Rose-Louder Arthur Vernon Regina Williams, Chairperson Debra Wheat-Williams

The following members were absent at the meeting:

MelRose Corley

Lucas Sanchez

Robert Socolof

William Watson

Upon determining that a quorum was present, the Chair Regina called the meeting to order and welcome the board members. No public attendees were present at this meeting.

Chair Regina led the audience in the Pledge of Allegiance.

Secretary Gabriela called the roll.

First, upon a motion made by Arthur Vernon and duly seconded by Kyle Rose-Louder, the council members voted unanimously to adopt the agenda of the meeting of the governing body of the Nassau County Minority Affairs Council of November 14, 2018.

Chair Regina stated that the next item on the agenda was to adopt and vote on posting the Minutes of the Office of Minority Affairs Council meeting on September 26, 2018 for the public. A motion was made by Arthur Vernon and seconded by Isma Chaudhry to approve the minutes for the meetings held on September 26, 2018 with no corrections. A motion was moved by Arthur Vernon and duly seconded by Debra Wheat-Williams to post the minutes for public viewing.

Chair Regina shared with the council members the resignation of Robert Socolof as a council members. A motion was made by Arthur Vernon and duly seconded by Kyle Rose-Louder to accept Robert Socolof's resignation and send appropriate thank you notes, for both Shani Bruno and Robert Socolof for their service to the council.

Chair Regina discussed the issue with the council members not in attendance with or without an excuse. The council members decided to look for documents first, review the charter for membership to the council and discuss in our next meeting what to do for this situation if it happens in the future.

Chair Regina stated that "Old Business"- Item 7a (Working Groups update) will be postponed until the Executive Director serves as a staffer of the Nassau County Office of Minority Affairs and Item 7b (OMA Staff – discussion on additional staff to be added) is modified until the selection of the Executive Director. Item 7c (Council Meeting dates for the balance of 2018) from the agenda adopted on September 12, 2018 and September 26, 2018 and November 14, 2018 will now be on a monthly basis starting in December 2018. The Office of Minority Affairs council will meet the second

Monday of every month at 6:00 pm. A motion was made by Isma Chaudhry to make the council meetings a monthly standard and duly seconded by Nadine Burnett and Charles Dickens to begin on Monday, December 10, 2018.

Chair Regina stated that the next item on the agenda was to discuss top candidates for Executive Director. A motion was made by Debra Wheat-Williams to eliminate this item from the agenda to happen in front of the public and duly seconded by Charles Dickens.

The Nassau County Office of Minority Affairs Council will hold an Executive Session meeting on Monday, November 26, 2018 at 6:00 pm. The next public meeting will be held on Monday, December 10, 2018 at 6:00 pm. Both meetings will take place at the First Floor Conference Room at One West Street, Mineola, NY.

Public Comment:

No public attendees were present at this meeting.

There being no further business, upon a motion made by Arthur Vernon and duly seconded by Debra Wheat-Williams, the council members voted unanimously the meeting adjourned at 7:00 pm.

The Nassau County Office of Minority Affairs Council went into Executive Session at 7:00 pm.

Consensus was reached during the Executive Session that the Search Committee would make the decision to as the successful candidate's recommendation to the County Executive on behalf of the council. The Search Committee members are: Chair Regina Williams, Vice Chair Nadine Burnett, Secretary Gabriela Guzman, MelRose Corley, Kyle Rose-Louder and Arthur Vernon. The council members that were present in the Executive Session and are not part of the Search Committee are: Isma Chaudhry, Charles Dickens and Debra Wheat-Williams.

Respectfully submitted,

Gabriela Guzman Secretary