News Flash

Legislative District 14

Posted on: February 7, 2022

Legislative District 14 Update 2/4/2022


Dear Resident, 

This week, I joined my colleagues in the Nassau County Legislature along with dozens of County, Town, City and Village elected officials, and local homeowners, to demand that Governor Hochul remove a provision from her budget, which mandates that localities permit Accessory Dwelling Units (apartments) on the property of single-family homes.  This provision, buried within the Governor’s state budget proposal, overrules local zoning laws effectively eliminates single-family home zoning across New York State.  This underhanded maneuver is an assault on the suburbs and if enacted would negatively impact the environment, traffic, parking, emergency services, police, gas, electricity, water, school districts and the overall quality of life in Nassau County, all of Long Island and in suburban communities throughout New York State.

We simply cannot allow this to happen.  We are already putting a plan in motion to fight the Governor so that this provision is removed from her budget bill and the overwhelming majority of elected officials countywide are taking action as well.   

However, it’s also critically important for your voices to be heard to help prevent this attack on our homes and neighborhoods.  I encourage you to call the Governor’s office and other state representatives to let them know that this progressive action is not acceptable, and that the legislation must be removed from the state budget.  Below is the contact information for the Governor’s office, the Senate and Assembly leaders, and state officials who represent Nassau County.  You can also visit: www.governor.ny.gov/content/governor-contact-form to submit comments on this issue as well. 

I will continue to keep you updated with any further developments concerning this matter.

Governor Kathy Hochul

518-474-8390

 

Senator/Majority Leader Andrea Stewart-Cousins

914-423-4031/518-455-2585

scousins@nysenate.gov

Assemblyman/Speaker Carl Heastie

718-654-6539/518-455-3791

speaker@nyassembly.gov

 

Senator John Brooks

516-882-0630/518-455-2765

brooks@nysenate.gov

 

Senator James Gaughran

516-922-1154/518-426-6785

gaughran@nysenate.gov

 

Senator Anna Kaplan

516-746-5924/518-455-2170

kaplan@nysenate.gov

 

Senator Todd Kaminsky

516-766-8383/518-426-6914

kaminsky@nysenate.gov

 

Senator Kevin Thomas

516-739-1700/518-455-3260

thomas@nysenate.gov

 

Assemblywoman Taylor Darling

516-489-6610/518-455-5861

darling@nyassembly.gov

 

Assemblyman Michael Durso

516-541-4598/518-455-5305

dursom@nyassembly.gov

 

Assemblywoman Judy Griffin

516-561-8216/518-455-4656

griffinj@nyassembly.gov

 

Assemblyman Charles Lavine

516-676-0050/518-455-5456

lavinec@nyassembly.gov

 

Assemblyman David McDonough

516-409-2070/518-455-5559

mcdonoughd@nyassembly.gov

 

Assemblyman John Mikulin

516-228-4960/518-455-5341

mikulinm@nyassembly.gov

 

Assemblywoman Melissa Miller

516-431-0500/518-455-5769

millerml@nyassembly.gov

 

Assemblyman Michael Montesano

516-937-3571/518-455-4684

montesanom@nyassembly.gov

 

Assemblyman Ed Ra

516-535-4095/518-455-4643

rae@nyassembly.gov

 

Assemblywoman Gina Sillitti

516-482-6966/518-455-5192

sillittig@nyassembly.gov

 

Assemblywoman Michaelle Solages

516-599-3768/518-455-5560

solagesm@nyassembly.gov

 

As always, please feel free to contact me with any thoughts and ideas you may have with respect to the County or on any particular issue that you think I may be able to assist you with.  You may contact me at (516) 571-6214 or by email at LSchaefer@NassauCountyNY.gov .

Have a great weekend and drive carefully tonight or stay off the roads to be safe. 😊 

Sincerely, 

Laura M. Schaefer
Legislator, District 14

Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in Legislative District 14

KENNEDY PARK COMMUNITY CLEANUP

Posted on: April 11, 2022

HALLS POND PARK COMMUNITY CLEANUP

Posted on: April 11, 2022

Legislative District 14 Update 2/11/22

Posted on: February 14, 2022

SIGN UP TO BECOME A MEMBER OF C.E.R.T.

Posted on: February 2, 2022

HICKSVILLE COMMUNITY BLOOD DRIVE

Posted on: February 2, 2022

Legislative District 14 Update: 01/21/22

Posted on: January 21, 2022

Legislative District 14 Update: 01/14/22

Posted on: January 14, 2022

Legislative District 14 Update: 12/31/21

Posted on: December 31, 2021

Legislative District 14 Update: 12/30/21

Posted on: December 30, 2021

Legislative District 14 Update: 12/24/21

Posted on: December 24, 2021

Legislative District 14 Update: 10/29/21

Posted on: November 1, 2021

Legislative District 14 Update 10/15/21

Posted on: October 15, 2021

Legislative District 14 Update 10/1/21

Posted on: October 4, 2021

Legislative District 14 Update 9/29/21

Posted on: September 29, 2021

Legislative District 14 Update 9/24/21

Posted on: September 27, 2021

Legislative District 14 Update

Posted on: April 23, 2021

Legislative District 14 Update

Posted on: April 16, 2021