

EMPLOYEE BENEFITS DIVISION

NYSHIP Statement of Dependence for "Other" Children

PS-457 (4/2020 L)

Enrollment or Recertification of an "Other" Child as a NYSHIP Dependent

This form must be completed when an enrollee applies for coverage on behalf of a dependent child who is other than the enrollee's natural-born or adopted child, stepchild, or the child of the enrollee's Domestic Partner. For such a dependent to be eligible, the child must: (1) reside permanently in the enrollee's home and (2) receive more than 50 percent of support from the enrollee. Support must have commenced before the child reached age 19. If you have a dependent who meets these criteria, please complete this form and submit it, the required proof of support along with a completed Health Insurance Transaction Form (PS-404 for NY and PE enrollees, PS-503 for PA enrollees).

EMPLOYEE INFORMATION								
1. Last Name	First Name	MI	2. Social S	Security Number	3. Date of Birth			
4. Home Address	City		State	Zip	5 . Sex			
Street	- ,			'	☐ Male ☐ Female			
6. Telephone Numbers			7. Agency					
Primary: ()	Work: ()		Name:		Code:			
"OTHER" CHILD INFORMATION								
1. Last Name		First Name			MI			
2. Social Security Number	3. Date of B	irth		4. Sex ☐ Male	☐ Female			
5. This application is for:	☐ Initial Enrollment	OR	☐ Rece	ertification				
	ENROLLEE STATEMENT							
☐ I provide at least 50 percent of the dependent's financial support.								
If you are applying for initial enrollment or recertifying an "other" child who is under the age of 19 , please attach one proof that documents your support.								
 Examples of an acceptable proof of financial support include: A copy of your current year's federal tax return claiming the "other" child as a dependent; A letter from a CPA, an enrolled agent, or an attorney stating that you can claim the dependent on your current federal tax return; or Proof of legal guardianship. 								
☐ My home address on file is this dependent's permanent legal residence.								
If you are recertifying your "other" child who is age 19 or older , please attach one proof that shows the dependent's residence matches your permanent address on file. The proof submitted must have been issued within 6 months of the application date.								
Tax return (current yTelephone or utility	utomobile registration;							
☐ I anticipate that the dependent will reside with me for at least 2 years.								
If less than 2 years, when do you expect that the dependent will no longer reside with you?								
mm/dd/yyyy								

Personal Privacy Protection Law Notification

The information you provide on this application is requested in accordance with Section 163 of New York State Civil Service Law for the principal purpose of administering the New York State Health Insurance Program. This information will be used in accordance with Section 96 (1) of the Personal Privacy Protection Law, particularly subdivisions (b), (e) and (f). Failure to provide the information requested may interfere with our ability to comply with your request. This information will be maintained by the Director, Employee Benefits Division, Department of Civil Service, Albany, NY 12239; (518) 473-1977. For information relating only to the Personal Privacy Protection Law, call (518) 457-9375.

I understand that any false or misleading statements made on this form will subject me to financial responsibility for any benefits paid on behalf of my 'other' child. I understand that false statements may result in disciplinary action by my employer and/or result in criminal and/or civil penalties as well as other legal actions including the prosecution of insurance fraud as defined in NYS Penal Law, Section 176.05; NYCRR, Title 11, Section 86.4 and U.S. Code, Title 18, Section 1035.

Print Enrollee Name:								
Enrollee's Signature:(Sign in the presence of notary)		Date:						
Acknowledgement to Be Complete	d by a Notary F	Public						
State of County	of			<u></u>				
On the day of	ir	n the year	_ before me, t	he undersigned, personally				
appeared								
For Office Use Only								
	Initial enrollment or recertification for an "other" child under the age of 19			 □ Copy of the Dependent's Birth Certificate □ Proof of Support (50% or more) □ Health Insurance Transaction Form 				
Recertification of an "other who is age 19 or older	I II Proof of Dependent's Residence			esidence				
☐ Approved ☐ Not Approved	Date transacti	on submitted to add dependent:						
HBA Signature:			_ Date:	:				

THIS FORM MUST BE RETAINED BY THE EMPLOYING AGENCY WITH THE ENROLLEE'S ENROLLMENT RECORDS