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1.0  EXECUTIVE SUMMARY 
The Nassau County Living Wage Law (“Law”) was enacted by the Nassau County Legislature in 
20061. The purpose of the Law is to provide a living wage to employees living and working in 
Nassau County.  As a result of the Law, many covered workers in Nassau County have seen four 
annual increases in their hourly wage rates since the Law became effective.   
 
The Comptroller’s Office is responsible for monitoring, investigating and auditing compliance 
with the Law, which requires the Comptroller to submit an annual report to the County Executive 
and the County Legislature summarizing and assessing the implementation of and compliance 
with the Law during the preceding year.2     

After the Law became effective on January 1, 2007, the Comptroller’s Office established a 
Living Wage Unit (“Unit”) dedicated to auditing covered employers to ensure compliance with 
the Law. Pursuant to Section 7 (b) of the Law the Comptroller’s Office promulgated rules and 
regulations, created forms and other documents, established a hotline for the confidential 
reporting of non-compliance and established a webpage to disseminate information about the 
Law and the audits undertaken.  The Unit established audit criteria for conducting Living Wage 
audits, created a comprehensive audit plan intended to concentrate on the contractors with the 
most employees.  The Comptroller also established a Living Wage Advisory Board (“Board”) 
comprised of labor leaders and Living Wage Law advocates to advise the Comptroller on 
compliance issues and ways to improve the effectiveness of the Law.  

During 2010, the Comptroller’s Office continued to make progress in achieving the objective of 
bringing as many covered employers as possible into compliance with the Law.  2010 Living 
Wage audit fieldwork focused on follow-up audits of personal care aide (“PCA”) service 
providers with 2010 billings to New York State of approximately $81.8 million.3  The PCAs 
provide assistance to Medicaid recipients in their homes to avoid the more costly option of 
institutionalizing the patients.  The audits focused on follow-up audits of PCAs in 2010 because 
of the large numbers of employees determined to have been underpaid in previous audits.   
In 2010 the Comptroller’s Office also audited Consumer Directed Patient Assistance Program 
(“CDPAP”) service providers, which in 2009 fell under the auspices of the Law for the first time.  
CDPAP is a Medicaid program that provides an alternative to traditional home care by enabling 
self directed individuals (clients of the service provider) or their administrators to assume 
responsibility for their own care by recruiting, training, and supervising their personal assistants.  
The CDPAP service providers act as the fiscal intermediaries for the personal assistants.  In 
2010, these agencies received payments from the New York State Department of Health for 
approximately $43.7 million.4    
The Comptroller’s Office completed four follow-up audits of PCA service providers and three 
audits of CDPAP service providers in 2010.  As a result, six Living Wage audit reports were 
issued in 2010 and one in March of 2011.  Violations were identified in the audits; the majority 

                                                
1 Nassau County Living Wage Law, Title 57. 
2 Nassau County Living Wage Law § 7 (c) (2010). 
3 Source: New York State Department of Health Provider Ranking List - Fiscal Year Ending 12/31/10.  Payments by 
New York State during 2010 to Personal Care providers under contract with Nassau County.     
4 Ibid. 
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concerned failures to pay the hourly wage rates required by the Law or non-compliance with the 
Law’s requirement to grant workers paid days off or payment in lieu of paid days off.  

As shown in the Table below, according to the audits performed in 2009 and 2010, the number 
of violations identified in our audits declined by 76.6% from 530 to 124 and the amounts the 
affected employees were shortchanged decreased materially by 94.9% from $281,790 to 
$14,158.  Four of the seven audits completed in 2010 were follow-up audits, conducted to ensure 
that the service providers had taken corrective action to address previously noted errors and 
deficiencies.  These results demonstrate that significant improvement has occurred.   

Since the inception of the Living Wage Unit in 2007 through December 31, 2010, the 
Comptroller’s Office has released Living Wage audit reports of 16 different contractors. These 
audits found that contractors underpaid their employees by $433,545 in wages and compensated 
days off, affecting 9645 employees.  The table below summarizes the financial results of our 
findings.  

Summary of Findings for 2008 - 2010 Reports 
Year  
Tested 2007 2008 2009 Total 

  
Wage Under 

Payments 

Compensated 
Time Off Under 

Payment 
Wage Under 

Payments 

Compensated 
Time Off Under 

Payment 

Compensated 
Time Off Under 

Payment   

Year 
Issued 

No. of  
Emp.  Amount 

No. 
of  

Emp.   Amount 
No. of  
Emp.  Amount 

No. 
of  

Emp.   Amount 

No. 
of  

Emp.   Amount 
No. of  
Emp.   Amount 

2008 135 $76,173  175 $61,424            310 $137,597  
2009 116 $88,978  293 $102,414  79 $77,089  42 $13,309      530 $281,790  
2010    51 $5,056  3 $3,645  3 $33  67 $5,424  124 $14,158  

                    

Total  251 $165,151  519 $168,894  82 $80,734  45 $13,342  67 $5,424  964 $433,545  

                                                                                                                                                         

We were encouraged to find significant improvement in compliance with regard to the payment 
of wages and benefits, including compensated time off, in the follow-up PCA audits performed 
during 2010. The Comptroller’s Office publicized the results of the previous 2009 audits and the 
contractors had adequate time to perform self-audits, reviews and take necessary corrective 
actions prior to the Comptroller’s Office’s audits in 2010.  In 2010 four PCA providers audited 
in prior years with significant findings were revisited to ensure that corrective action had taken 
place. We issued follow-up audit reports of the agencies in 2010 and confirmed that they had 
taken adequate corrective action.  

As of the date of this report, the Comptroller’s Office was advised that twelve living wage 
waivers were requested in 2010. Eight of the waiver requests were from personal care agencies, 
however, one of the personal care agencies subsequently cancelled its waiver request. Two of the 
personal care agencies have been granted waivers to date. We are currently working with the 

                                                
5 The number of employees affected represents the total number of occurrences when an employee was under-
compensated, in terms of wages or compensated days off, in 2007, 2008 or 2009.  As a result, the same employee 
may account for up to six occurrences if there was an under payment of both wages and compensated days off in 
2007, 2008 and 2009. 
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County’s Living Wage Waiver Review Officer to determine the status of the remaining waiver 
requests and to verify if any other waivers have been requested, granted or denied.   

The Living Wage Advisory Board has been a major source of guidance throughout 2010 and its 
suggestions and insights will continue to be used for improving the Law and the monitoring and 
investigating process.  The Board played an important role in advocating for improvements in 
the Law by developing a comprehensive list of recommendations for legislative changes to the 
Law.  A number of the Board’s recommended changes were included in the 2010 amendments to 
the Law enacted on January 21, 2010.  

2.0 BACKGROUND 

2.1 THE LIVING WAGE LAW 
All discussions of the Law in this report refer to the Law in existence during 2010, unless 
otherwise noted.  The Law was amended on January 21, 2010; the amendments took effect on 
March 22, 2010.  
 
Living Wage Rates  
The Law increased the minimum hourly wages on August 1st of each year up to and including 
August 1, 2010 when the last Living Wage rate increase of $1.00 per hour took effect and raised 
the Living Wage rate to $12.50 per hour.  In addition, if a covered employer does not provide 
health benefits to covered employees, they must pay its employees a benefits supplement.  The 
benefits supplement was $1.60 per hour from August 1, 2009 to July 31, 2010; on August 1, 
2010 it increased to $1.66 per hour.  As of August 1, 2010, the Law required covered employers 
to pay an hourly wage of $12.50, or $14.16 if no health benefits are provided.  

The increase in the benefits supplement rate is upwardly adjusted in proportion to any increase 
during the preceding twelve months of the consumer price index for medical care for the New 
York-Northern New Jersey-Long Island metropolitan statistical area.6  Beginning August 1, 
2011, the Living Wage rate will be increased by a “…percentage equal to the change in the New 
York Metropolitan Area All Urban Index (NY-CPI-U) as promulgated by the Bureau of Labor 
Statistics of the U.S. Department of Labor (CPI) for the period of June of the preceding year to 
June of the current year.” 7 However, the Law limits the annual increase to no greater than three 
and one-half percent.8  

The Law also requires that full-time employees receive 12 compensated days off per year for 
sick leave, vacation, or personal necessity.  Part-time employees who work at least 20 hours or 
more per week receive proportionate compensated days off.  

 
Application of the Law  
The Law applies to the following types of contracts and leases entered into by the County after 
January 1, 2007: 

                                                
6 Nassau County Living Wage Law § 2 Definitions (2010).  
7 Nassau County Living Wage Law § 2 (4) (2010).  
8 Nassau County Living Wage Law § 2 Definitions (2010). 



 

Living Wage Law 2010 Annual Report  
4  

11111 

 service contracts of $25,000 or more; financial assistance contracts9 for more than 
$50,000 and where the employer has at least 10 employees; and 

 leases of property10 owned or controlled by the County.     
 
The Law also applies to County subcontractors, County lessees and contractors of recipients of 
financial assistance from the County.  The Law covers all employees of Nassau County and 
those of NuHealth (formerly known as the Nassau Health Care Corporation) and its 
subsidiaries.11  
The Law does not apply to vendors who enter into the following types of contracts with the 
County: 

 service contracts and financial assistance for providers of child care services, pre-school 
services and early intervention services12;  

 contracts where services are incidental to the delivery of products, equipment or 
commodities13; or 

 inter-governmental contracts and financial assistance contracts for industrial development 
bonds, community development block grants and enterprise-zone investments14. 

 
The Law exempts those employees who are: 

 under 18 years of age and are claimed as dependents for federal tax purposes and are 
employed as an after-school or summer employee15;  

 employed as a trainee in a bona-fide training program consistent with federal and state 
law where the training program has the goal that the employee advances into a permanent 
position16;  

 disabled and who are covered by a current sub-minimum wage certificate issued to the 
employer by the United States Department of Labor, or if they would be covered by such 
a certificate but for the fact that the employer is paying a wage equal to or higher than the 
federal minimum wage17; or  

 covered by a bona fide collective bargaining agreement provided that the Law is 
expressly referenced in the agreement.18  

                                                
9  Nassau County Living Wage Law § 2 Definitions (2010).  
10  Ibid. 
11  The January 2010 amendments changed the definition of those employees who are covered by the Law.  Nassau               
County Living Wage Law § 2 Definitions (2010).  
12 Nassau County Living Wage Law, §3, 3) (2010). 
13 Nassau County Living Wage Law, §2, Definitions (2010). 
14 Ibid. 
15 Nassau County Living Wage Law §3, 1) (A) (2010). 
16 Nassau County Living Wage Law, §3, 1) (B) (2010).  
17 Nassau County Living Wage Law § 3 (2010).  
18 Nassau County Living Wage Law § 10 (c) (2010).  
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Penalties for Non-Compliance 
Where an employer fails to comply with the Law after being notified in writing by the County, 
the Law originally allowed the County to impose a fine “in the amount of $500 for each week for 
each employee found not to have been paid in accordance with this title”19.  In light of the 
significant number of instances of non-compliance, in 2009 the Board recommended that the 
Law be amended to increase the maximum allowable fine that may be imposed by the County as 
follows:    

1. upon the issuance of the first written notice of a violation of this title an employer shall  
be fined in the amount of $500 each week for each employee found not to have been paid 
in accordance with this title; 
2. if within thirty days after such employer receives the first written notice of violation, 
such employer fails to cure such breach, such employer shall receive a second notice of 
such violation and shall be fined in the amount of $1,000 each week thereafter for each 
employee found not to have been paid in accordance with this title; 
3. if within thirty days after such employer receives a second written notice of violation, 
such employer fails to cure such breach, such employer shall receive a third notice of 
such violation and shall be fined in the amount of $2,000 each week thereafter for each 
employee found not to have been paid in accordance with this title.20  

 

Waivers 
The Law allows a County contractor to request a waiver from complying with the Law. The 
Rules of the County Executive set forth the criteria under which a waiver may be granted. As 
such, a contractor granted a waiver is exempt from the Living Wage Law and is not required to 
pay its employees the Living Wage rate. However, the contractor remains subject to Federal and 
State minimum wage requirements.  From the inception of the Law through 2010, seventeen 
vendors (eight PCA and nine non-PCA) have been granted waivers from the Law.   In August of 
2010, the Comptroller’s Office began listing on its Living Wage webpage, vendors who have 
requested waivers.  

2.2 THE LIVING WAGE UNIT 
The Law charges the Nassau County Comptroller with the responsibilities of monitoring, 
investigating and auditing compliance with the Law.21  To perform these functions, the 
Comptroller established the Unit within the Field Audit Department of the Comptroller’s Office.  
In 2010, three full-time staff members were assigned to the Unit (two auditors and one 
supervisor). Other Field Audit personnel assist with supervisory and quality assurance reviews 
on a part-time basis. The Unit will continue monitoring Living Wage Law compliance in 2011, 
however due to the increased compliance noted in follow-up audits of covered service providers, 
anticipated employee retirements and the County’s current limits on hiring of nonessential 
employees, external Living Wage audit activities may be reduced.  To adapt to the expected 
staffing changes, the Unit plans to implement new procedures including the following: 
                                                
19 Nassau County Living Wage Law § 7 (d) (iv) (2010).   
20 Nassau County Living Wage Law § 7 (d) (iv) (2010).  
21 Nassau County Living Wage Law § 7 (a) (2010).  
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requiring agencies to periodically certify their compliance with the Living Wage Law, and 
requiring the submission of certified payroll and other supporting documentation.  When this 
information is obtained and reviewed, employers may be subject to desk or field audits.    

 
Rules  
The Law provides for rulemaking in two areas: monitoring and enforcement of the Law, and 
waivers.  The County Executive designated the Comptroller to promulgate the Rules as they 
relate to the monitoring and enforcement of the Law.22 The primary purpose of the Rules 
promulgated by the Comptroller is to define the role of the Comptroller, outline the 
responsibilities of covered employers, and clarify the rights of covered employees. The 
Comptroller’s Office periodically reviews its Rules and will revise them as necessary. The 
County Executive has promulgated a separate set of Rules to address the procedures governing 
requests for waivers and to clarify certain terms.  These Rules were last amended on November 
10, 2010.  

 
Webpage  
The Living Wage webpage may be found at: 
www.nassaucountyny.gov/agencies/Comptroller/LivingWage/index.html. The webpage includes 
a complete copy of the current Law, Living Wage Rules promulgated by the Comptroller and the 
County Executive, links to Living Wage Forms in a downloadable format and Frequently Asked 
Questions about the Law.  Additionally, the Unit’s 2007, 2008 and 2009 annual reports and audit 
reports that have been issued are posted on the webpage.  This report is also available on the 
webpage.  
 
Poster  
The Unit created a Living Wage Poster to explain the Law in a simple format.  Posters are 
available in English and Spanish and may be downloaded from the webpage. The posters list the 
current Living Wage rates and the employee’s right to compensated days off; they also provide 
the Unit’s telephone number and e-mail address to allow individuals to contact the Unit with 
questions and employee complaints.  The Comptroller’s Rules require that Living Wage notices 
be posted in a conspicuous manner at all relevant work sites.  The posters have been designed in 
a manner to meet this requirement and are updated to reflect changes in the Living Wage rates.  
The posters were updated in 2010 to list the increased Living Wage rates effective August 1, 
2010 through July 31, 2011.  

2.3 THE LIVING WAGE ADVISORY BOARD 
In order to benefit from the insight of union leaders and activists, the County Comptroller 
established the Board in 2007.  As of January 1, 2011, the current Board members are: 
 
John Durso – Long Island Federation of Labor (Chairman)  
Jim Castellane – Building & Construction Trades Council (Vice Chair)  
Lisa Tyson – Long Island Progressive Coalition (Vice Chair) 

                                                
22 Nassau County Living Wage Law § 7 (b) (2010).    



 

Living Wage Law 2010 Annual Report  
7  

11111 

Jack Ahern – International Union of Operating Engineers Local 30 
Shirley Aldebol – Service Employees International Union Local 32BJ 
Frank Bail – Retail Wholesale Department Store Union Local 1102 
Walter Barton – National Association of Letter Carriers Branch 6000 
Patricia Bowden – Transit Workers Union Local 252 
Roger Clayman – Long Island Federation of Labor 
Donald Fiore – International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers Local 25 
Nick LaMorte – Civil Service Employees Association Region 1 
Michele Lynch – 1199 Service Employees International Union 
 
In 2010, the Board held three meetings where they discussed challenges faced by the County in 
the administration of the Living Wage Law. They also considered the effects of the 2010 
amendments to the Law and monitored the status of the audits in progress.  The Board raised 
questions concerning the Law’s interpretation, the employees and entities covered by the Law, 
and the granting of waivers from compliance with the Law.  The Board informed key County 
officials and vendors of the importance of the Law particularly to those in the home health care 
field.   
 
Living Wage Legislative Changes 
The Law was amended on January 21, 2010. The amendments took effect on March 22, 2010.  
The amendments included the following:  
 

 The stipulated benefits rate must be paid for every hour an employee receives as 
compensated days off. The Law also further defines payment for compensated days off 
and provides that compensated days off will not be forfeited upon separation from 
service, but must be paid to the employee at the Living Wage rate at the time of 
separation.23  

 The maximum allowable fines imposed by the Law were increased.  Previously, 
employers were to be fined $500 each week for each employee not being paid in 
accordance with the law upon the issuance of the first written notice of violation.  The 
amendment provides for second and third notices of violation to be issued if the employer 
fails to cure the underpayment and for increased fines of $1,000 and $2,000 per week for 
each employee respectively.24 

 The eligibility criteria for waivers was amended and the names of employers who apply 
for a waiver will be publicized so interested parties can comment and provide 
information in support or opposition of the application.25 Medicaid funded assisted living 
program facilities that were providing services within Nassau County prior to 2006 and 
who continue to provide such services are exempt from the Law.26  Sleep away camp 

                                                
23 Nassau County Living Wage Law § 3 b. (2010).  
24 Nassau County Living Wage Law §7 (iv) (2010).  
25 Nassau County Living Wage Law §9 b. (2010).  
26 Nassau County Living Wage Law Definitions § 2 (2010). 
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services for the disabled are exempt.27 The amended Law also exempts student interns 
working for the County.28  

 

Nassau Community College  
The original Law had specifically excluded Nassau Community College as an employer; 
therefore, its direct employees were not covered.  However, the College’s service 
contractors/subcontractors and their employees were covered by the Law.  As the College 
directly employs approximately 3,200 individuals, the Board recommended that the Law be 
amended to include Nassau Community College as a Covered Employer.  This suggestion was 
implemented in the amended law, excluding only student workers at the College.29   
 

Waivers 
One of the criteria for a waiver from the Living Wage Law is that the highest paid officer or 
employee of the company must earn a salary including fringe benefits, which are less than six 
times that of the wages plus fringe benefits of the worker receiving the lowest pay.30  At the 
Comptroller’s request, the amended Law added the requirement that fringe benefits be included 
as part of the determination of the highest paid officer’s total salary.  The Law provides that the 
Comptroller can determine a method for valuing the fringe benefits in making this 
determination.31   
 
In accordance with the Law, the Comptroller’s Office established a methodology and created a 
Nassau County Living Wage Law Waiver Eligibility Compensation Ratio Test Form which must 
be submitted with the waiver request.  All waiver-related rules forms may be found on the 
Nassau County Comptroller’s webpage. The Rules of the County Executive were revised 
effective November 10, 2010 to coincide with the changes in the Law and to implement the new 
methodology for waivers.   

     

3.0 SCOPE OF 2010 AUDITS 
Audit Plan and Priorities  
The 2010 audit plan continued to focus on the PCA providers since these agencies employ a 
relatively large number of workers earning wages close to the Living Wage rate; these 
contractors had total annual billings to New York State of approximately $73.3 million in 2009, 
and $81.8 million in 201032.  The audit plan called for revisiting companies previously audited 

                                                
27 Nassau County Living Wage Law § 3 c. (2010).  
28 Nassau County Living Wage Law Definitions §2 (2010).  
29 Ibid. 
30 Nassau County Living Wage Law §9 (2010).  
31 Ibid. 
32 Source: New York State Department of Health Provider Ranking Lists - Fiscal Years Ending 12/31/09 and 
12/31/10.  Payments by New York State during 2009 to Personal Care providers under contracts with Nassau 
County (exclusive of Consumer Directed Patient Assistant Program).   
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that were determined to be non-compliant. This was done to confirm that corrective action had 
been taken and to deter recurring non-compliance.   

PCA providers that fall under the Consumer Directed Personal Assistance Program (“CDPAP”) 
were subject to the Law for the first time in 2009.  Compliance audits of CDPAP vendors started 
in 2010, with the audits covering calendar year 2009.  In 2010, we selected Pathways to 
Independent Living, Inc. and Long Island Center for Independent Living, Inc., two of the largest 
CDPAP agencies. These two agencies received payments of $17.7 million and $15.1 million 
respectively.  For 2009, the CDPAP agencies audited accounted for approximately 87% of the 
$40.8 million of total payments to CDPAP agencies. The two agencies had significant numbers 
of employees covered by the Law in 2009; Pathways to Independent Living had 790 such 
employees while the Long Island Center for Independent Living had 579 employees covered 
under the Law.  

The Living Wage Unit also performed desk audits on a variety of large and small County 
vendors by pulling claim vouchers from the Comptroller’s Vendor Claims Unit and checking the 
salary information for compliance with the Law.    
Some Nassau County institutional foster care contracts were not covered by the Living Wage 
Law because they predated the January 1, 2007 effective date of the Law.  As their expiration 
dates are reached, Living Wage compliance clauses are added.  In 2010, 25 foster care contracts 
with termination dates of December 31, 2010 were revised effective January 1, 2011 to include 
Living Wage compliance clauses in the renewed contracts.   

In 2010, there were no significant leases entered into by the County, where the County leased 
property to others, which were covered under the Law.  In 2010, follow-up audit reports were 
issued for four PCA providers which had been previously audited.  Three audits of CDPAP 
providers for fiscal year 2009 were completed.  Audit reports for two of the agencies were issued 
in 2010 and the report for the third agency was issued in March of 2011.  
 

4.0 AUDIT FINDINGS 
As illustrated in the table presented in the report’s Appendix, for 17 audits conducted from 2008 
to 2010, we found $433,545 of underpayments impacting 964 employees.33  Six Living Wage 
audit reports were released in 2010; four were covered PCA providers while two were for 
CDPAP providers.  The 2010 audits disclosed $14,158 in underpayments affecting 124 
employees.  The 2010 audit findings are described in more detail below.  The underlying 
conclusion drawn on the Living Wage audits performed in 2010 by the Comptroller’s Office is 
that significant improvement was noted in the follow-up audits of PCA providers that had been 
audited previously.  

                                                
33The number of employees affected represents the total number of incidences in which an employee was under-
compensated, in terms of wages or compensated days off, in 2007 through 2009.  As a result, the same employee 
may account for up to six incidences if there was an under-payment in both wages and compensated day off in the 
period.  
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PCA Contractual Agreements 
Nassau County enters into agreements with PCA contractors to provide state-mandated personal 
care services to Medicaid recipients.  The reimbursement claims for these personal care services 
are submitted to (and paid by) the New York State Department of Health.  The total payments by 
New York State for Nassau County in 2009 for CDPAP and PCA providers were approximately 
$114 million; CDPAPs amounted to $41 million and PCA providers amounted to $73 million.34 
The County’s share of these payments is normally 10%35, or an estimated $11.4 million for 2009.   
Four follow-up audit reports of PCA providers were issued in 2010 which contained findings that 
5736 employees had been underpaid by $5,245.  Below is a brief summary of the audit findings 
for each PCA provider:  

 
Premier Home Health Care Services, Inc. 
We performed a limited review of the agency’s compliance with the Law for calendar year 2008 
and performed a follow-up review to ensure that corrective actions were taken as a result of our 
previous audit of calendar year 2007.  Our prior audit of 2007 had disclosed that Premier 
underpaid 70 of its employee’s wages totaling $15,683.  For 2008, we found a small 
underpayment of wages of $156 affecting 3 employees; as a result, we recommended that 
Premier review its 2008 wages to ensure no other employees were underpaid.  In addition, our 
follow-up review of 2007 noted that Premier underpaid 51 part-time employees by $5,056 
because of an error in the method they were using to calculate accrued hours.  In 2008, Premier 
was in full compliance in its calculation of compensated days off and we confirmed that the 
provider’s employees had been properly reimbursed for the underpayments.  
 
Allen Health Care Services 
We performed a limited Living Wage compliance audit for calendar year 2008 and conducted a 
follow-up review to ensure that corrective actions were taken following our prior audit of 
calendar year 2007. Our review found that in 2007 and 2008, miscalculations in the provider’s 
determination of compensated days off had resulted in small underpayments to employees, 
which were paid to the employees.  Due to the 2008 miscalculations, we recommended that 
Allen perform a review to ensure that no other employees were underpaid.  Our testing of wages 
paid found compliance with the Law.  
 
First Choice Home Care, Inc.  
We performed a limited compliance audit of calendar year 2008 wages and completed a follow-
up review to ensure that corrective actions were taken as a result of our prior audit of calendar 
year 2007 wages.  In the previous audit of 2007 wages, we found that 45 employees were 
underpaid a total of $6,290; we verified that underpaid employees had been reimbursed.  Our 
audit of 2008 wages found full compliance with the Law in regard to wages, supplemental 
benefits and compensated time off.  
 
                                                
34 Source: New York State Department of Health Provider Ranking Report - Fiscal Year Ending 12/31/09.  
35 Per the Fiscal Unit of the Department of Social Services. 
36See Living Wage Findings by Year schedule (page 14).  Total consists of 2010 audit report findings for Premier 
Home Health Care Services, Inc. and Allen Health Care Services.  
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PHC Services Ltd. 
The Unit issued a prior audit report in 2009 which covered the provider’s compliance with the 
Law for the period January 1, 2007 through July 20, 2008.  The follow-up review conducted in 
2010 included a review of the period July 21, 2008 through December 31, 2008.  The prior audit 
had determined that for the entire period PHC had not paid the Living Wage rate and the 
compensated days off.  PHC calculated that it owed $67,611 to its employees.  As part of the 
follow-up audit, we verified the accuracy of PHC’s calculation of the monies due and paid to the 
employees.  In our audit of the balance of 2008, we noted that PHC corrected the rate of pay to 
the proper living wage rate as of August 24, 2008. We verified that PHC correctly calculated the 
underpayment in wages for the period of July 21, 2008 through August 17, 2008.  We agreed 
with its calculation that $3,489 was due to its employees and verified that payment was made. 
In general, our follow-up audits of PCA providers noted considerable improvement over prior 
audit results.  In two instances, based on error rates noted in our follow-up reviews, we 
recommended that the providers review all 2008 wage payments to employees to ensure that no 
other employees were underpaid.   In addition to ensuring that these PCA providers have applied 
corrective action, as part of additional follow-up reviews, the Comptroller’s Office will ensure 
that the agencies are in compliance with the Law. If necessary, if an agency fails to address 
instances of non-compliance, the matter would be referred to the appropriate enforcement agency 
to take necessary action allowed under the applicable laws.  
 
CDPAP Agreements 
The Unit’s review of CDPAP agreements included three service providers to the County.  2009 
was the first year that CDPAP agreements were covered under the Law.37 Two audit reports were 
issued in 2010 and a third audit report was issued in March of 2011.  The three audit reports 
contained audit findings noting that 67 employees had been underpaid by $5,424. The details of 
these findings are as follows:  

 
Pathways to Independent Living, Inc. 
We performed a limited Living Wage compliance audit of this CDPAP provider for calendar 
year 2009.  In 2009, the provider had 790 employees who were covered by the Law.  Based on 
our testing of the wages paid and the calculation of compensated time off due employees, we 
found that the provider was in full compliance with the Law. 
 

South Shore Home Health Care, Inc.  
A limited compliance audit was performed of the agency’s CDPAP agreement with the County 
for calendar year 2009.  Based on our testing of the wage rates paid to employees, we found the 
agency to be in full compliance with the Law.  However, for compensated time off, we found the 
methodology used to determine the accrued hours due to the employees was incorrect.  As a 

                                                
37 Pursuant to Memorandums of Understanding (“MOUs”) that the Nassau County Department of Social Services 
entered into with the CDPAP providers prior to the January 1, 2007 effective date of the Law, CDPAP providers 
were not subject to the law until 2009.  Once these MOUs expired, new MOUs were entered into with the County 
which required these providers to comply with the Law.  
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result, 67 employees were due a total of $5,424.  We verified that the agency subsequently 
reimbursed the employees the $5,424.  

 
Long Island Center for Independent Living, Inc. 
The review period for the limited Living Wage compliance audit was calendar year 2009. The 
final report was not issued until 2011; however, the field work was completed in 2010.  This 
provider had 579 employees in 2009.  Based on our review of wages paid and the calculation of 
compensated time off due employees, we found that they were in full compliance with the Law. 
 

5.0 ENFORCEMENT SUCCESSES AND CHALLENGES  
In 2009, the Living Wage Unit sought clarification from the New York State Department of 
Labor as to the number of hours live-in personal care aides were required to be paid under the 
New York State Labor Laws.  This query was made because our audits had noted that live-in 
personal care aides working twenty-four hours per day were being paid inconsistently by 
employers; for example, some employees were being paid for a thirteen-hour workday while 
others were paid for a ten-hour workday. These inconsistent workday payments were made 
despite the fact that the employees were working the same twenty-four hour shift.  The State 
replied with an opinion stating that live-in care aides must be paid not less than thirteen hours per 
twenty-four hour period provided that they are afforded at least eight hours for sleep and actually 
receive five hours of uninterrupted sleep, and that they are afforded three hours for meals.38  The 
Comptroller’s Office is considering developing a directive to address this issue. 
The Unit will continue to monitor waivers requested and granted and will keep the Board 
informed as we observe the effect the recent changes to the Law have made on the number of 
waivers approved and granted.   
 
We expect that Unit staffing will be more limited in 2011 due to anticipated employee 
retirements and limits on hiring new employees; while Living Wage audit work will continue, 
adjustments will be needed.  We will develop alternate audit methods, such as expanded desk 
audits and new requirements for agencies to submit certified payrolls and supporting 
documentation. These changes will be needed in order to address these changing conditions.  
Despite these challenges, we will ensure that the Unit fulfils its responsibilities under the Law. 

                                                
38 August 31, 2009 letter from New York State Department of Labor to Comptroller’s Office. 
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APPENDLIVING WAGE FINDINGS BY YEAR 

  2007 2008 2009 Total 

  Wage Under Payment  Compensated Time 
Off Under Payment Wage Under Payment  Compensated Time 

Off Under Payment 
Compensated Time 
Off Under Payment     

Auditee Number of 
Employees Amount Number of 

Employees Amount Number of 
Employees Amount Number of 

Employees Amount Number of 
Employees Amount Number of 

Employees Amount 

Allen Health Care 
Services      103 $  45,119       103 $  45,119 

First Choice Home 
Care, Inc.     45 $    6,290       45 $    6,290 

New York Health Care 
Inc. 26 $    6,350         26 $    6,350 

Premier Home Health 
Care Services, Inc. 70 $  15,683         70 $  15,683 

Tender Loving Care 
Health Care Services, 
Inc. 

39 $  54,140 27 $  10,015       66 $  64,155 

Total Issued 2008 135 $  76,173 175 $  61,424       310 $137,597 
A&B Healthcare 
Services, Inc.   45 $  26,067       45 $  26,067 

ABLE Health Care 
Service, Inc. 2 $       168 79 $  12,126       81 $  12,294 

Island Search 67 $  50,516   49 $  57,047 2 $        84   118 $107,647 
Jzanus Home Care, 
Inc.   132 $  35,925       132 $  35,925 

PHC Services, Ltd. 45 $  38,000 19 $    6,051 30 $  20,042 17 $   3,518   111 $  67,611 

Randstad US 2 $       294 18 $  22,245   23 $   9,707   43 $  32,246 

Total Issued 2009 116 $  88,978 293 $102,414 79 $  77,089 42 $ 13,309   530 $281,790 
Premier Home Health 
Care Services, Inc.   51 $    5,056 3 $       156     54 $    5,212 

Allen Health Care 
Services        3 $        33   3 $         33 

First Choice           0 $          - 

PHC Services, Ltd.      $    3,489     0 $    3,489 

South Shore         67 $   5,424 67 $    5,424 

Pathways                     0   
Total Issued 2010 0 $          - 51 $    5,056 3 $    3,645 3 $        33 67 $   5,424 124 $  14,158 
Total Issued 2008-
2010 251 $165,151 519 $168,894 82 $  80,734 45 $ 13,342 67 $   5,424 964 $433,545 

 


