January 2nd is the deadline for Nassau County residents to apply for the STAR property tax break programs Comptroller George Maragos announced today as a reminder. Those residents who applied in 2013 do not need to reapply unless you purchased a new home, or are 65 years or older and did not check the income verification box on your 2013 application for the Enhanced STAR program. The tax savings vary depending the value of the home but can save residents thousands. STAR and Enhanced STAR are the New York State School Tax Relief programs that provide a partial exemption from school property taxes for owner-occupied, primary residences.
“Every resident whose household income is less than $500,000 should file for a tax break before January 2nd,” Comptroller George Maragos said. “Those that don’t apply are likely to pay thousands in higher property taxes.”
Basic STAR is available to owner-occupied, primary residences where the resident owners' and their spouses’ income is less than $500,000. Enhanced STAR provides an increased exemption for the primary residences of senior citizens (age 65 and older) with qualifying incomes of $83,300 or less. For jointly owned property only one property owner must be 65 or older.
Property owners who are currently receiving the basic STAR do not need to reapply unless they moved to a new residence in which case the exemption is not automatically transferred and a new basic STAR application is required by January 2nd.
Seniors (65 years or older) receiving the Enhanced STAR must re-file unless they signed up in 2013 for the income verification program. If a senior did not select the income verification, they should have received a renewal notice which must be filed by January 2, 2015. Signing up for the income verification program authorizes the Assessor to have the applicants incomes verified in subsequent years by the New York State Department of Taxation and Finance without the need to reply annually for the Enhanced STAR.
For more information on these programs and other exemptions please visit http://www.nassaucountyny.gov/3575/Exemption-Forms