News Flash Home
The original item was published from 12/28/2020 11:38:21 AM to 12/29/2021 12:00:00 AM.

News Flash

Legislative District 18

Posted on: December 28, 2020

[ARCHIVED] Legislator Lafazan Hosts 3rd Annual ‘Kids of Distinction’ Awards Ceremony

(MINEOLA, N.Y.) - Nassau County Legislator Joshua A. Lafazan (Woodbury) is seeking nominations for the third annual Kids of Distinction Awards. Twenty-five exceptional young people from the 18th Legislative District will be recognized for their excellence in academics, athletics, and dedication to community service and making a positive difference in the community. A virtual ceremony is being planned for February 2021.

“Throughout the COVID-19 pandemic, I’ve had the privilege of working with extraordinary young people who were eager to help collect food donations and personal protective equipment to help essential workers, seniors, and residents during this public health and economic crisis,” Legislator Lafazan said. “Young people have shown time and again just how committed they are to giving back, and I am humbled to have the opportunity to celebrate their achievements with our community during our district’s third annual Kids of Distinction awards ceremony.”

Hamlets and villages within the 18th Legislative District include: Bayville, Brookville, Centre Island, Cove Neck, East Hills, East Norwich, Glen Head, Greenvale, Lattingtown, Laurel Hollow, Locust Valley, Matinecock, Mill Neck, Muttontown, Old Brookville, Oyster Bay, Oyster Bay Cove, Syosset, Upper Brockville, and portions of Woodbury and Jericho. 

To nominate a potential Kid of Distinction, please visit and complete an application. The deadline to apply is February 1. For more information, please contact Rena Thomas at 516-571-6218 or via email at

Facebook Twitter Email