News Flash

Legislative District 05

Posted on: March 19, 2024

Koslow Honors Community Leaders During Black Educators Committee’s Legends Ball

Black Educators Committee - Honorees

(FREEPORT, N.Y.) Nassau County Legislator Seth I. Koslow (D – Merrick) and Freeport’s Black Educators Committee honored an array of accomplished community leaders during their Legends Ball held at Verdi’s of Westbury on Saturday, March 16.

The night’s honorees included (pictured above, from left, with Legislator Koslow) - Florence Bell, Arlene Blaize-Easter, Margaret Sameroff, Saundra Wilson, Eric Poulson and Julius O. Pearse (not pictured).

The Black Educators Committee is a 501 (c) (3) nonprofit organization that seeks to provide students in the Freeport School District with scholarships to advance their higher education pursuits. The Committee endeavors to engage in community service; to sponsor, host and/or participate in events and activities that will provide scholarships to deserving high school seniors; to identify individuals, groups and corporations that have made significant contributions to the Freeport community; and to foster and improve community relationships. 

The Committee is led by (pictured on page 2, from left, with Legislator Koslow) -Treasurer Arlene Blaize-Easter; Community Liaison Cynthia Vanager-McManus; President Claretha Richardson; Vice President Vashti N. Burke, RP; Membership Chair and Legends Ball Chair Angela Dickens; and IT Officer John Udaze. Not pictured is Secretary Renson Delos Santos.


Black Educators Committee - Board


“The Black Educators Committee invests in our young people, directly addressing educational inequities by offering scholarships and a support network for high school seniors,” said Legislator Seth Koslow. “I was honored to present citations for the 2024 Legends Ball honorees.”


PHOTO CREDITS – Office of Legislator Seth I. Koslow

Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in Legislative District 05

Legislator Koslow Celebrates ‘Read Across America Day’ in Freeport

Posted on: March 11, 2024 | Last Modified on: March 11, 2024