Assessment Review Commission

How to Appeal Your Assessment


The Assessment Review Commission (ARC) is an independent agency, separate from the Nassau County Department of Assessment, which is responsible for annually reviewing all applications for correction of assessment filed in Nassau County. These corrections have resulted in substantial savings for the taxpayer.

Responsibilities of the Commission:

  • Reviewing the valuation set by the Department of Assessment.
  • Reviewing and making determinations on grievance applications timely filed.

An appeal can be filed on the website through the online appeal system called AROW- Assessment Review on the Web.


Assessment Review on the Web
What AROW Does:
Automated searching of recent sales in your area to determine if your home is overvalued.
If it is found to be, an application for correction assessment can be filed.

Our online appeal system is called AROW- Assessment Review On the Web. Through AROW you can do an automated search of recent sales in your area to determine if your home is overvalued. This sales search feature is available year-round for residential properties, 24 hours a day, seven days a week. If, after your search of recent sales, you find the value of your property is excessive we would encourage you to file an application for correction of assessment. The next opportunity to file an appeal will be after the Department of Assessment sets its next tentative assessment roll on January 2, 2023. Your time to file an appeal based on that tentative assessment for this year will be between January 2, 2023, and March 1, 2023.

Thank you for your time and it is our sincere hope that you will take advantage of AROW and all the information our website has to offer. The staff at ARC prides itself on providing courteous and prompt service. Please feel free to contact us by phone at (516) 571-3214 or by email at with any questions or concerns you have regarding your assessment.

The Assessment Review Commission 

  • Hon. Stephen A. Bucaria, Chairperson
  • Anthony T. Ballato, Commissioner
  • John Ardito, Commissioner
  • Florestano Girardi, Commissioner
  • Laura Monfiletto, Commissioner
  • Michael Perry, Commissioner
  • Marc Stone, Commissioner
  • Rocco Totino, Commissioner