Fire Commission Meetings


The board holds regular monthly meetings and special meetings as required. 

2022– 2023 Nassau County Fire Commission Members

Leonard J. Cherson Fire Commission Chairman

Patrick Theodore Fire Commission Vice Chairman

Brian T. Nolan Fire Commission Secretary

Frank Wakely Jr.1stBattalionChairman
Paul Gerner1stBattalionV. Chairman
Richard Corbett2ndBattalionChairman
Ed Madden2ndBattalionV. Chairman
Lenny Cherson3rdBattalionChairman
Charles Brocher3rdBattalionV. Chairman
Mark Murray Sr.4thBattalionChairman
Joseph Mihalich4thBattalionV. Chairman
Brian Nolan5thBattalionChairman
Peter Newman5thBattalionV. Chairman
George Kern6thBattalionChairman
Cary Welt6thBattalionV. Chairman
Donald Spatz7thBattalionChairman
Tracy Bowdin7thBattalionV. Chairman
Patrick Theodore8thBattalionChairman
Thomas McDonough8thBattalionV. Chairman
Larry Baron9thBattalionChairman
Robert Chiz9thBattalionV. Chairman


The Nassau County Fire Commission is comprised of nine Fire Commissioners, one from each Fire Battalion of Nassau County. The members are elected internally through each Fire Battalion to serve on the board for a term of one year. The board itself elects a Chairman, Vice Chairman, and Secretary each year. Serving as the Executive Officer to the Board is Chief Fire Marshal Michael F. Uttaro.

2022-2023 Meeting Schedule

Tues. Aug. 30

Mon. Sep. 12
Tues. Sept. 27
Tues. Oct. 11
Tues. Oct. 25
Mon. Nov. 14
Tues. Nov. 29
Mon. Dec. 12
Tues. Dec. 27

Valley Stream (3rd) 
Rockville Centre (4th)
Roslyn Highlands (5th)
Seaford (6th) 
Mon. Jan. 9
Tues. Jan 31
Mon. Feb 13
Tues. Feb 28
Mon. Mar. 13
Tues. Mar. 28
Mon. Apr. 10
Tues. Apr. 25
Wed. May 10**
Roosevelt (7th) 
Albertson FC (8th)
Plainview (9th) 

View all dates and locations here: 2022-2023 Meeting Schedule (PDF)


The Nassau County Fire Commission acts as a liaison between the Nassau County Fire Service and county government. They have internal committees which monitor, and when necessary, provide assistance and guidance in resolving matters related to the county's fire and EMS services. The commission is responsible for the promulgation of the Nassau County Fire Prevention Ordinance (PDF), approving amendments, and hearing variance requests when required. In addition, the commission, in accordance with civil service guidelines conducts interviews, grants appointments, and promotions for fire marshals, fire communications technicians, and EMS instructors when such positions are available.

Read the Nassau County Charter (PDF).


1st Battalion

100 Bellerose
110 Bellerose Terrace
120 Floral Park
130 Floral Park Centre
140 Garden City
150 Garden City Park
160 Mineola
170 New Hyde Park
180 South Floral Park
190 Stewart Manor

2nd Battalion

200 Baldwin
210 Freeport
220 Island Park
230 Long Beach
240 Oceanside
250 Pt. Lookout-Lido

3rd Battalion

300 Hewlett
310 Inwood
320 Lawrence-Cedarhurst
330 Meadowmere Park
340 Valley Stream
350 Woodmere

4th Battalion 

400 East Rockaway
410 Lakeview
420 Lynbrook
430 Malverne
440 Rockville Centre

5th Battalion

500 Bayville
510 East Norwich
520 Glen Cove
530 Glenwood
540 Locust Valley
550 Oyster Bay
560 Roslyn Rescue
570 Sea Cliff
580 Syosset
590 Roslyn Highlands

6th Battalion

600 Bellmore
610 East Meadow
620 Levittown
630 Massapequa
640 Merrick
650 North Bellmore
660 North Massapequa
670 North Merrick
680 Seaford
690 Wantagh

7th Battalion

700 Elmont
710 Franklin Square
720 Hempstead
730 Roosevelt
740 South Hempstead
750 Uniondale
760 West Hempstead

8th Battalion

800 Albertson
810 East Williston
820 Great Neck Alert
830 Great Neck Vigilant
840 Plandome
850 Port Washington
860 Williston Park
870 Manhasset-Lakeville

9th Battalion

900 Bethpage
910 Carle Place
920 Farmingdale
930 Hicksville
940 Jericho
950 Plainview
960 Westbury
970 South Farmingdale