What We Do


The Nassau County Legislature, formed in 1996, is the legislative arm of the Nassau County government. Comprised of single representatives from each of the County's 19 districts, it is the Legislature's duty to draft and approve local laws that affect the County and its residents.

The Nassau County Legislature is based on a committee system consisting of fifteen committees.  Local laws, ordinances, and resolutions (“items”) are assigned to a committee for review and consideration.  Upon approval, items move to the Rules Committee for further review.  If approved, items are placed on the calendar of the Nassau County Legislature at full session where they are voted on by all nineteen legislators.

As provided in the Nassau County Charter, the certain contracts for personal services, professional services, and other similarly characterized contracts, as well as purchasing and public works contracts are reviewed and considered in the Rules Committee.

The 15 committees are Rules; Finance; Public Safety; Government Services & Operations; Economic & Community Development and Labor; Public Works; Minority Affairs; Towns, Villages and Cities; Planning, Development & the Environment; Health and Social Services; Senior Affairs; Veterans; Aircraft Noise Abatement; Assessment; and Budget Review.